Archive for May 8th, 2014

May 8, 2014

Spicy Oven Roasted Chickpeas

Hi Everyone!! Kathy here! I apologize I’ve been away for some time! Recently, I was able to travel to Europe with my daughter and that was an incredible trip! I’ll post some pics and write a blog about that very soon! And even more recently I had the opportunity to travel to Chicago and study under some true Pilates Masters.  That was an amazing experience and reinforces my decision to become a Pilates instructor. I know I will always be practicing, learning and growing, and sharing the knowledge with those around me! It makes me giddy and happy knowing I chose the perfect career!!!

So on to this weeks blog, I love salty spicy crunchy snacks and they have to be healthy! I eat chick peas everyday as a source of protein and fiber. Usually a sprinkle or two on my salads. Ive been looking for baked chick peas at my grocery and have yet to find any so off to the web I went, and after combing a few different recipes and a little trial and error, I really love the recipe below.  If you don’t love spice like a do, just scale back on those ingredients a little bit! Also try sprinkling these on your salad or in soup! Delicious!

Enjoy!!!

Spicy Oven-Roasted Chickpeas
about 2 cups

Ingredients

1 15 ounce can organic chickpeas
1 tablespoon of olive oil
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon dried onion
1 dash paprika
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 400 ° F.
  2. Drain and rinse chickpeas in colander. Remove skins from peas and pat dry with a paper towel.
  3. In a bowl, stir chickpeas and ingredients until well blended.
  4. Place chickpeas on a baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and toss peas on cookie sheet every 5 minutes for the next 20 minutes!