Living Wheat-Free for Dummies

ImageThink about the last time you felt fatigued, bloated, irritated, or sick. Did someone (maybe even yourself) give you medicine to help the symptoms? Did you ever find out the source of the pain or discomfort? As a Certified Holistic Wellness Coach, I help individuals find the source of their pain, provide solutions to heal, and share lifestyle tips that will nurture healthier living. Until recently, my dietary restrictions were few. I eat healthfully, and I watched my portions, but I didn’t restrict a certain food group. That changed as I learned more about how our food is processed in America (where I live) and what is allowed into our food sources. I don’t feel that any food source is bad, with respect for exceptions like specific allergies or personal medical conditions. Rather, I fear that the way certain food sources are processed and utilized restricts us from consuming and enjoying our food. Further, our food sources, processed under current guidelines (or lack there of) could be slowly killing us.

Until recently, I didn’t buy into the gluten-free, wheat-free lifestyles. I didn’t think it pertained to me since I enjoy meals with gluten and wheat (two different ingredients) without any serious, adverse health concerns. I know people with Celiac and similar diseases have to steer clear of all gluten and wheat. This isn’t me. Then I started noticing a change in how I felt after a bigger meal. Let me clarify that even a bigger meal didn’t mean over-eating for me. I’m pretty good at watching my portions, but when those portions were filled with more wheat or gluten (I didn’t know the difference at first), I noticed a sluggish, tiredness about an hour after I ate. This wasn’t a good thing for the social life. Still, I didn’t correlate wheat or gluten with the feeling. I simply resolved that “something didn’t agree with me” at that meal. After recording a month of meals, I noticed a pattern of adverse feelings associated with particular foods. I have to give dairy some credit here too, as I noticed cheese becoming a culprit to my good health. (It’s always that which you love most, isn’t it?)

When Rusty’s book, Living Wheat Free for Dummies, arrived, I thought, perfect timing! Let’s get to the bottom of this nonsense once and for all. After reading his book, I feel dumb for suffering so long. Was I bent over in pain after eating wheat and gluten? No, but the discomfort I felt wasn’t necessary either. Thank goodness the no-nonsense approach of his book cut-to-the-chase, so to speak. I wasn’t in the mood to learn the origin of wheat (which is available in the book for those of you who care) or who is to blame for it’s demise (which is also discussed, if desired.) I wanted to know why living wheat-free was all-of-the-sudden on every newsstand, book stand, and news show. It seemed to be a social topic that appeared out of nowhere, which up to now, I ignored. If you’re looking for a great starting point or if you’re curiosity is building, I recommend grabbing a copy of Living Wheat-Free for Dummies. Here’s a snap-shot list of why:

  • No time? Good! Rusty gives chapter references for specific topics related to wheat-free living, so no matter your current education on the subject, you can skip through or target specific needs/interests given the day.
  • Not ready? Fine! Use the book as preliminary study, as nobody is forcing you to sign over your rights to eat wheat or gluten after you purchase the book. You are in charge of your own body. Rusty authored an easy-to-read, inclusive tutorial on living a wheat-free lifestyle to serve as a daily coach as you implement new things into your diet.
  • Scared? I was! There’s no need because Rusty shared excellent recipes and how-tos in his book. He also discusses going cold turkey or gradually cutting wheat and gluten out. Again, you have choices—you are in control.
  • I can’t! You’re wrong. I challenge you to open your mind a bit and educate yourself on the evolution of wheat in our country. Even if you don’t change your own lifestyle, you could bless someone with your new-found knowledge of living wheat free and how wheat and gluten both affect our body’s systems, possibly even saving a life or two! Who doesn’t want to be a superhero?

I want to share a favorite recipe from Rusty (found in his book, Living Wheat-Free for Dummies):

Hidden Veggie Smoothie

Image

I put my green drinks into fancy glasses. I makes me feel like I’m celebrating. Toasting my health. Cheers!

1.5 cups almond milk

¼ cup whey protein powder

¼ cup hemp protein powder

1 oz raw almonds

1 medium frozen banana

½ cup frozen blueberries

½ cup frozen kale

½ avocado

Blend milk, protein powders, almonds together well, then blend in other ingredients until smooth. Enjoy!

What else will you find within the pages? Over 40 meal recipes that are free of wheat or gluten, tips and further explanation resources to key concerns, a kitchen checklist, exercise programs, how to dine out on a wheat/gluten-free diet, and ways to track your progress. It’s like you get a mini-coach and accountability partner with the book.  It leaves this skeptical girl with nothing left to question or ask. With Living Wheat-Free for Dummies by your side, you can confidently navigate wheat-free living and still enjoy a fit and fun lifestyle. You can order yours now on Amazon or through the author’s website at rustygregory.com.  

Leave a Reply

