Ocean Freeze; Still a Breeze

Image

 

We are at the beach house for Spring Break this year, and it’s freezing. Ok, not freezing, but around 40-55 degrees, and NOT laying-out-in-the-sun weather. Despite the Cape Cod-like days, I’ve retreated to my daily jogs on the beach. I don’t usually do the same exercise on back-to-back days (it’s healthy to shake it up and there are so many activity options!) but somehow, being close to the water helps me loosen my grip on my rules and routine. I’ll shake it up, so I am not working the exact same muscles every day—sometimes sprint drills, other days it’s a beach boot camp routine, and some times it’s a sand jog and then Yoga. It’s tough to beat a steady-paced therapeutic run along the shoreline, but most of us can’t stop what we’re doing and run to a beachside town somewhere.

Image

Just sayin’

If you’re in a spot where a coastline isn’t accessible, check out these meditative, beach-like artists for your playlist:

 

  • Jimmy Buffett (duh)
  • Kenny Chesney
  • Colbie Caillat
  • Sheryl Crow
  • The Beach Boys
  • Elvis (I’m serious. Must be all of those old Elvis movies I watched.)

 Or simply search the words: top. beach. party. songs. 

Another tradition at the beach house is smoothies. Despite the cooler temps, I still made my favorites that I share below. There’s several farmer’s markets in the area, so fresh, organic produce is easy to find, and I pack my vanilla Advocare protein powder. (I also mix half a scoop of protein powder into steel cut oats with cranberries for a morning meal or snack. Yum.)

Image

Add some cinnamon if you want. I’m a cinna-addict!

1 cup spinach

1 cup frozen mango or peaches

1 cup freshly-juiced carrot juice (or store-bought organic carrot juice)

1/2 cup almond milk or coconut water

Shot of wheat grass

1 scoop of protein powder

 

 

ImageBlueberry Beach Babe

1 cup spinach

1/2 cup coconut water

1/2 cup kale

1 cup frozen blueberries

1/2 cup raspberry or cranberry

1 scoop protein powder (optional)

Squeeze one lemon on top and blend. Enjoy!

ImageFor you fellow Holistic hotties out there, download some Enya and take your meditation or Yoga practice to the beach at sunrise or sunset for a boost in your spiritual health walk. I’ve never felt closer to God than I do at these moments. This past trip gave me an especially relaxing session as I reflected on the Water Element. Symbolizing spirituality and wisdom, this therapeutic combination got me thinking about how the ocean is like life… or maybe it just reminds me of my life.

Read on and let me know if you can relate.

 

Image

  • Changes, like waves, are coming whether you want them to or not.
  • Sometimes, diving in is your best bet; then, you can start focusing on something else.
  • Let it go. It’ll drift where it’s supposed to go on its own.
  • The tide rises and falls by someone higher up than you. Why are you trying to control it?
  • The water is blue; the water is green, too. It depends on where you’re standing.
  • An overcast day at the beach is still a day at the beach.
  • It’s okay to spend some time by yourself. Some else may block your view.
  • Powdery, white sand is beautiful, until you have to run in it.
  • Protect yourself—remember the sun can burn you even if you don’t see it.
  • The ocean doesn’t belong to you, but the memories you take from it are all yours.

 Peace y’all, Lacey

 

Leave a Reply

