Meet Your Live HH Transformation Ashley Casalini Garcia!

What will Ashley look like in the future?

What will Ashley look like in the future?

Hey HH family!

You asked and we answered! Many of you requested a live transformation. We have always featured someone who has made great progress on their health and fitness journey,  but now we bring a live transformation right before your very own eyes. Meet Ashley Casalini Garcia. She recently had a baby and wants to be a Healthy Housewife. Watch what she eat, how she works out, and juggle everyday life with a newborn. She is excited to get in her best shape of her life right in front of you all! Here at the HH we are excited to see her journey with you too.

And so the transformation begins…

Ashley's Wedding Pictures

Ashley’s Wedding Pictures

My name is Ashley Casalini Garcia. I am 27 years old and a wife and new mommy to a precious little boy, Beau Bradley Garcia, born January 8, 2014. I grew up in a loving Italian household where I was taught to put God and family first. My husband Bryan and I regularly attend Lakepointe Baptist Church and work hard to support each other in all of our life goals. I work full-time as a Legal Assistant at an amazing law firm in Uptown Dallas and am a full-time student online at Texas Woman’s University. My lifelong love of, and participation in, sports has driven me to stay healthy and fit – mentally, physically and nutritionally.

Growing up I played sports

Growing up I played sports

I am one of four kids, the second oldest. We have all been involved in sports since we were young! For me, I started playing t-ball and running in elementary school. By the time I was in middle school, I was playing slow-pitch softball year-round with my sister, our mom as one of our coaches. I was also a member of the track team. In high school I participated in swimming, softball and track and field. I was also a member of the speech and debate team, competing in foreign extemporaneous speaking and original oration, speaking and competing in front of groups such as The Rotary Club, former Dallas Cowboys players, Veterans of Foreign Wars and others, winning scholarship money and pushing myself to new limits in confidence and creativity.

I was awarded a track scholarship to Sam Houston State University

I was awarded a track scholarship to Sam Houston State University

My junior year of high school I was blessed to qualify for the state meet in track and field in Austin, Texas, competing in the 400m for 5A schools. I placed 5th. My senior year of high school I dedicated to competing in speech and track and field, running cross country to train and competing in the 200m, 400m, 4x200m relay and 4x400m relay. I was again blessed to qualify for the state meet in the 400m. This time I placed 3rd! In the whole state of Texas! It was an amazing moment! I was then chosen to be a member of the Texas team that traveled to Albuquerque, New Mexico for a nation-wide meet that summer. All of this hard work – the early morning runs, after-school practices, weight lifting and dedication to nutritional health – paid off and I was awarded a track scholarship to Sam Houston State University in 2005.

I learned a lot about myself while at SHSU. I was part of a team of elite athletes that pushed me to my next level of fitness and the best shape of my life so far. We earned 4 Conference Championship rings for Indoor and Outdoor seasons and competed with the best in the nation at the Texas Relays each year. I felt like I was at the top of my game – in fitness. But, I was struggling personally as I was in a mentally, verbally and emotionally abusive relationship. I went from being a straight-A student and top-notch athlete to failing an entire semester and watching my times slip in my races. I started going out with friends more and dedicating myself less to what was important. I was depressed and did not know where to turn. I then suffered a back injury that caused me to red-shirt a season. Not being able to participate in practice every day, where I found my outlet and peace, sent me further into a depression. My coach pulled me aside and at that point stopped being my coach and started being my friend. He helped me realize the downward spiral I had spun into and helped to get out of my destructive relationship.

My husband and I

My husband and I

I ended up meeting my current husband, Bryan, in 2008. We worked together on campus. He was exactly the type of guy I needed in my life. He was a God-loving, southern gentleman who helped me to heal emotionally and mentally. However, due to injury and my rough year of competition, I ended up losing my scholarship in 2009 and was behind in studies from failing courses. I decided I needed to get away and start fresh. Bryan had transferred to Universal Technical Institute when we started dating and had finished his studies in July 2009 and decided to follow me back up to Dallas. We both worked full-time jobs and continued to grow in faith and by April 2010 we were engaged and married on October 8, 2011. I went back to school, attending Kaplan University, and received my Associates Degree in Paralegal Studies. I then enrolled at TWU to finish my bachelor’s degree in English and Business that I didn’t finish at SHSU and am currently set to graduate December 2014. We both had also gotten back into working out and eating healthy. I started my morning runs again and we both started lifting. It felt great to get back on track!

My engagement pictures

My engagement pictures

By 2012 we bought our first house and I decided that I wanted to again push myself to the next level in fitness. Sitting behind a desk all day was draining. I was meant to do more! I’m naturally athletic and wanted to inspire others to be fit in all areas of life! I met Marzia through my co-worker’s wife, Brooke, also a Healthy Housewife member. I started training with her for my first bikini competition. About six weeks in, Bryan and I found out that we were expecting, and I put my fitness goals on hold. I gained almost 45lbs. during pregnancy! When Beau was born he had a rough birth. His shoulder got stuck and the stress to his body caused heart, kidney and liver failure and a cephalohematoma. He spent the first 20 days of his life in the NICU unit and Special Care and we were told that we were lucky he made it through the first 24 hours. He is home now and we’re still working on getting his liver to 100% healthy. This has just further inspired and pushed me to get back to my fitness goals and back to training for my bikini competition.

My beautiful Beau!

My beautiful Beau!

I want to continue to push myself and to inspire others. I want Beau to know that no matter how hard things get, you can do anything you put your mind to, that God and family are always here for support and that living a healthy lifestyle will always make you feel better – body, mind and soul! Eventually, I’d like to make a career out of my love of health and fitness and get out from behind a desk! I’d like to let others, especially those who have been through tough relationships and struggles, know that they’re strong, that they’re loved and that living a healthy lifestyle can be empowering!

There are two quotes that I live by. The first is by D.H. Lawrence regarding self-pity (and not having it). It states, “I never saw a wild thing sorry for itself. A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough without ever having felt sorry for itself.” It reminds me not to get lost in self-pity parties and to keep pressing forward. The second is a quote that we put on our high school track shirts and it has never left my mind. It states, “I do today what you won’t, so I can do tomorrow what you can’t.” It reminds me that hard work pays off in the long run! I can’t wait to continue my journey with Marzia and achieve my goals! Thank you, Marzia for dedicating your time, wisdom, patience and love to women like me!

These were taken last week

These were taken last week

Here is a personal video so you can get to know me in real time! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehMEFsVxy-s

Thank you for reading my blog and I hope you follow my journey!

Here is my FB page to follow my daily post! https://www.facebook.com/F3byACG

Ashley

One Comment to “Meet Your Live HH Transformation Ashley Casalini Garcia!”

  1. I wish you nothing but success in your journey Ashley! I can’t wait to see how its unfolds:)

Leave a Reply

