It Is Well With My…

Check out my 30 Day Guide to Healthier Living at www.lectrochi.com

Check out my 30 Day Guide to Healthier Living at http://www.lectrochi.com

What does wellness mean to you? Are you well if you’re out of the doctor’s office? Are you well if you’re in top fitness condition and eat super clean? Does being happy make you well? As long as you’re disease-free, your well, right? Does completing a detox program make you instantly well? To me, wellness is a state of life when I feel, look, and perform my best. It’s all relative though, because my best may be different from your best and vice versa.

Some days, I am content with getting a good, sweaty workout in. I know if I start the day off with a good workout, I’ll make decent decisions with everything else the day throws at me. I have a friend who has to have her coffee and quiet time every day. If it doesn’t happen in the morning, she schedules a “meeting” at 3 or 4 in the afternoon. She knows this pause in the day is necessary for her wellness. Another client has to watch her nutrition. She feels in control of her wellness if she’s in control of her diet. It’s a game to her, and one she has to win.

Then come the days where we. are. not. well. You can’t plan for these days. Everything gets a bit off in an unintentional, uncontrollable way. Of course, we manage through appropriately, but on these days we may not get our quiet time in, or our workout in, and we may not be eating as clean as we hope. Life goes on. On these days, I like to help clients cope using humor and joy. Life is way too short to be so hard on yourself. Here’s a clip of something I sent to a client who loves animals and who happened to be having a crappy day. She called me, distraught over missing her workout. She didn’t actually miss it, she just didn’t go. She couldn’t make it happen. Oh well!

I sent her this video to 1. make her smile 2. show her some quick strengthening moves she could do before bedtime 3. let my pups show off their talents. Mission accomplished! She called with gratitude and said she snort-laughed. I take that as a good thing. Enjoy the clip! Oh, and just for fun… I added a recipe you can try on a day you need to cuddle with something sweet. Be well, friends! Lacey

Doberobics Time

http://youtu.be/Af_UrLZp604

ImageTough Girl Tiramisu

Oats Mixture:

  • 1/3 C rolled oats 
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp rum extract (almond would also work here)
  • 1/4 cup strong brewed, cooled coffee
Cream Mixture:
  • 3 oz plain Greek yogurt (use soy or almond yogurt to make dairy-free/vegan)
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg

Combine the oats, cocoa powder, cinnamon, extracts, and water in a bowl and microwave for 2-3 minutes, or until the liquid is (mostly) absorbed.  Add coffee and stevia.  Stir to combine, then cover and place in the fridge overnight (or at least 2 hours).

In a small bowl, combine yogurt, vanilla protein powder (I use Advocare’s), 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and nutmeg. Stir until well combined.  This can be done the night before, or at time of serving.  

To assemble, place a spoonful of the oats in a cup, followed by a spoonful of the yogurt mixture.  Repeat until you’re out of each.  

Makes 1 serving.

JOY BREAK: Angry people want you to see how powerful they are. Loving people want you to see how powerful YOU are.  

Leave a Reply

