Quality Maintenance

You’ve heard the terms high maintenance and low maintenance, but I’d like to introduce: Quality Maintenance! You can imagine the debate I’ve sat smack in the middle of for most of my adult life:

When is someone considered high maintenance?

Being “raised” on the Texas pageant stage doesn’t help grow my low maintenance perception… Neither does being a professional spokesperson. For that matter, neither does being a Healthy Housewives Team Member. (Especially on weeks where we have a photo shoot or appearance booked.) From the outside, I’d say some days I appear downright high maintenance. Not true! I’d like to share some of my Low Maintenance Momma Tips with you, so you can be high maintenance in disguise with me.

Image

Image

Skin Care

I use Dial Bar Soap on my face. (I’ll pause for the gasps.)

A Dermatologist shared this tip with me as a way to detour breakouts and combat my combination  (I say, oily) complexion. When I travel, I cut the bar in half (or in fourths for smaller for quick trips) for easily packing and use on the road.  (I do use a super-secret face oil afterward that moisturizes and protects my youth. This is proprietary info at this time.)

Image

Body Care

Coconut Oil is my skin lotion, lip balm, teeth brightener, hair moisturizer, cuticle softener, foot scrubber (when melted to a liquid and mixed with sea salt). When I travel, I put a few scoops into a small container and I’m set.

Image

Hair Care

I try to go 3-4 days without washing my hair. Before you judge my nastiness factor, let me say that I have super dry hair. I’d even add a ‘duper’ to that. I wash my hair one day, style the next day, style the following day with a spray of dry shampoo on my roots, and if I need/can, I’ll even do an up-do the following day—then wash my hair again.  I use Kenra brand dry shampoo and hair spray. LOVE IT! No it’s not all-natural, but it works. If you find something all-natural that works as well, let me know. I’ll give it a try! (I haven’t found one yet.)

Image

Nourishment

I don’t have time to cook, or prepare food every day. Rather, I don’t make the time. It’s not worth it to me, because I know I can get the nourishment my body needs from blended nourishment (I am a juicing queen—it takes a total of seven minutes from start to finish, especially if you cut produce ahead of time and store in your fridge. I make time for this. It’s a self-commitment and conscious decision. I will hang up with you to get my juicing in.) and supplements. Call it what it is—it’s my life and it works for me. The Standard American Diet (SAD) hasn’t impressed me in a while, and sadly, it appears to be getting even more difficult to find convenient, organic options sprinkled among my daily activities and obligations. (I love traveling to the West Coast—most airports there have a few all-organic food stands to choose from.) OneBode whole foods supplements travel well and have a permanent spot in my luggage and purse. Lectro Life’s ImmuneCleanse and UltimateO2 products are also daily consumables. I find a smoothie or juice bar as often as possible when I am out and about. Drinking my ideal ratio of carbs, protein, and fat is fine with me. I have stuff to do!

Image

Be sure you receive a quality ionic foot soak. There’s too many cheaply made alternatives out there. I trust Lectro Life Technologies!

Relaxation

I exercise daily (I’m worth 30-50 minutes and so are you.) and yes, it’s a stress reliever. I love my Lectro Chi Premier Foot Spa and soak my feet while reading the mail, news, or a good book. (Let’s not lie, some times I am on a conference call… but it’s still relaxing if your feet are soaking in warm, ionized water.) Sometimes I’ll just stare into space and hold one of my pups. Depends on the day I’ve had. I do share massage swaps with my husband. He rubs my shoulders and neck, and I rub his back. We also give each other bonus points for quality time.

DISCLAIMER: I occasionally treat myself  to a massage or pedicure with a girlfriend or for special occasions (PMS). My hair IS high maintenance. I own that one.

Feeling and looking your best doesn’t mean you get a speed pass to high maintenance status. Be kind to yourself, be real with others, and invest your time wisely. As I learned just this week as I said goodbye to a loved one, life is way too short and you just never know what tomorrow will bring. Celebrate the moment right now—for this moment is your life. Maintain your quality, sassy self without stressing!   –Lacey

2 Comments to “Quality Maintenance”

  1. Great tips! I have been meaning to try out the coconut oil for lotion and hair care. I wish I could go a few days with out washing my hair – it is so much healthier for it but my hair is on the oilier side and needs to be washed every day.

Leave a Reply

