In a Hurry? Drink Up!

Come on, let's go!

Come on, let’s go!

Hey peeps! It’s Brooke, here. Is it hard for you to squeeze in your recommended 3-5 daily servings of vegetables? Are you waiting until lunch (or even worse, dinner!) before laying eyes on your first piece of produce? Oh no, this will NOT do! You deserve better than this, and so do I. But sometimes life’s a bit of a struggle, isn’t it? I barely sit still enough to eat, or at least eat as well as I want to. And I often eat my food in shifts (e.g., scrambled eggs at the counter before getting ready, then my oatmeal and my protein shake packed in a cooler to take with me to work). It’s not the greatest system, but it gets me through most mornings. Lately, however, I’ve been trying to take better care of my husband and myself. I’ve loved concocting fresh juice to start our days feeling happy and light.

If you’re a crazy person on the go like me, you’re probably pretty tight with your juicer and blender already. If not, now’s the time to make friends with these kitchen helpers, because they will save you from yourself 😉 Here are a few of my favorite recipes for you to try. They are super easy and delicious!

 

Freshly-Pressed Juice, aka Liquid Gold

Morning Garden Delight

Morning Garden Delight

Morning Garden Delight

Serves 2

  • 1 big handful baby spinach, washed
  • 1-4 romaine leaves, washed
  • Several sprigs fresh mint
  • 1 cucumber, peeled if not organic
  • 2 carrots, scrubbed and ends trimmed
  • 2 celery stalks, washed
  • 1 apple, organic
  • 1 pear, organic

Cut produce, if needed, to fit your juicer’s feeder tube. Feed veggies and fruit into the juicer, and capture the yummy goodness that comes out of the spout. Stir fresh juice, and pour into glasses. Garnish with mint sprig if you like (and I always like ;).

 

Sweet Carrots

Sweet Carrots

Sweet Carrots (or Happiness in a Glass)

Serves 2

  • 4 carrots, scrubbed and ends trimmed
  • 2 apples (Braeburn or Red Delicious are awesome)

Cut produce, if needed, to fit your juicer’s feeder tube. Feed the apples and carrots into the juicer, and collect the juice. Be sure and stir the juice to blend the flavors, and pour into glasses. Pure heaven!!!

 

Blend, Baby, Blend

Berry Spinach Smoothie

Berry Spinach Smoothie

Berry Spinach Smoothie

Serves 2, or 1 if you hog it for yourself like I did! (makes 20 oz.)

  • 2 handfuls baby spinach, washed
  • 1 c. almond milk
  • 4 strawberries, organic
  • 4 raspberries, organic
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I chose Sunwarrior Raw Vegan Classic Blend, but any protein will do)
  • 1 Tbsp. almond butter
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Dash of cayenne pepper, optional
  • Ice, for desired consistency

Blend spinach and almond milk together until spinach has been broken down. Then add berries, protein powder, almond butter, cinnamon, and cayenne pepper. Last, add ice and blend until the smoothie is desired consistency. Talk about a delicious, nutritious powerhouse of a smoothie!

 

Gorgeous and green, just the way I like!

Gorgeous and green, just the way I like!

Drink up, you beautiful thing!

Brooke

Leave a Reply

