Track your progress…each step counts!

Image

 

There are tons of fitness trackers out there….from Polar Heart Rate monitors, to Nike Fuel Bands, Garmins, FitBits and Jawbones, the choices are never ending. How do you know which one to get and whether or not its not only right for you and for what you are trying to track. I am going to give you my personal experiences with some of these, in hopes to not sway your decision, but to give you some insight and help you make the best choice for you. 

Image

 

1. Polar Heart Rate Monitors—if you are going to track your heart rate, you have to use one that uses the chest strap. Ones where you simply put down your finger prints on a sensor of the watch are not near as accurate, and they are a nuisance during a workout. I used to wear a Polar Ft4 rather religiously, until it became no longer necessary for me to track my heart rate. (in other words I don’t care any more about how many calories I burn during a workout..I know when I am pushing hard, and when I am half -assing it). But, heart rate monitors can be a very effective way for you to see areas you can improve upon. For example, lets say you determined that your target heart rate zone you would like to achieve during workout is between 165-170 but you are only at a 125. This is a good indicator to you that you need to turn things up a notch. The downside of course is having to wear the chest strap. While not uncomfortable its not something you necessarily want to wear all day everyday. 

2. BodyBugg–I used to wear a BodyBugg back when they first came out and everyone was wearing them on their arm. I actually thought they looked really cool. The technology has probably changed since I last wore one (I am thinking it was like 5 years ago) but at that time it would tell you how many calories you burned, but it wouldn’t tell you your heart rate. Pet peeve–when women are dressed up wearing a bodybugg on their arm. 

3. Nike Fuel Band–as you may or may not know I am a Nike Trainer and Ambassador. I was given a Nike Fuel band. At first, I didn’t want one, and then when I was given one to try out, I fell in love. First of all, I am obsessed with all things Nike. TRULY! Secondly, the design is cool. Its essentially a digital bracelet that alerts you all day of your activity. Downside…FUEL is a Nike creation. Everyone can earn fuel the same no matter size or gender where as with calories we all burn them differently. You are thinking, hey that is cool. And yes, earning Fuel points is fun. But because its arbitrary it won’t give you an accurate count of how many calories you burned. Also, it goes based on  movement. You could literally sit still and just wave your arm in a circle and earn fuel. The app is really fun though and it can be fun to try and earn more fuel than someone else who has a fuel band. 

4. JawBone or FitBit–I didn’t plan on ever getting one of these, even though I liked the idea of tracking my sleep, something that both of these do. I won a JawBone from the certification department of Beachbody, so I thought okay, lets see what this can do and let me tell you I am obsessed. Yes, it tracks your steps, and your activity level. Yes, their is a cool app that goes along with it and syncs with other apps like MyFitnessPal or MapMyRun, but for me the obsession was in the sleep tracking. I have my nutrition pretty well nailed down, and my workouts and training are pretty solid as well. But one area that I can definitely do better in is sleeping. I do not sleep enough. I am always go , go , go and I know that my body isn’t getting adequate sleep. I like the design of the jawbone, except its missing a display…only way you can see your progress is through the app, but I love seeing how long it took me to fall asleep and how long I was in a deep sleep etc. 

If you have further questions on my recommendations on any of these products , don’t hesitate to reach out to me at danielle@healthyhousewives.com. You can also follow me on Facebook at fb.com/fitandfunkywithdanielle. 

 

Leave a Reply

