Holy Splits!

Pretty, right? Ha!

Pretty, right? Ha!

This time of year, my hands are a total mess. Here’s a sad equation for you: cold, wintery air outside + warm, dry heated air inside + multiple hand washes in a day + already very dry skin = deep and painful splits in one or more fingertips. No bueno! If you’ve never experienced the agony of having deep cuts form in the tender tips of your fingers or toes, consider yourself blessed. This plague of cracks began long ago as a teenager when I insisted on walking around the house barefooted during the winter. This led to many nights of limping around on my heels and the sides of my feet with my big toes covered in Vaseline, praying for relief. I finally smartened up and put on some socks! These days, my problems are my fingers. They pretty much kill me almost all the time.

I wash my hands more than most people, but you’d think I would have plenty of moisture in my life, as I’m usually up to my elbows in massage lotion. The irony here is that the only time my hands don’t hurt is when I’m working on someone. That’s when my hands are warm, soft, and greasy. But as soon as I step outside my therapy room, my hands dry up and the agony begins again. I’ve gone through hand cream after hand cream, desperate for help. Of course, there’s always Vaseline, but you know what my favorite portable emergency solution is? Neosporin and Band-Aids! I always have a set in every place I linger (work, home, and car), and pathetically, this was my most-wished-for stock stuffer. P.S. Santa really does listen 😉

This is how I spell relief--Neosporin and Band-Aids!

This is how I spell relief–Neosporin and Band-Aids!

Finally, A Miracle!

Miracles really do happen! My sweet mother-in-law sent me possibly one of the best gifts I’ve ever received. Of course, I couldn’t wait to share it with you! She found Julep Night Night Treatment Kit (Overnight Repair for Hands) at Sephora, and it’s changed my life, literally overnight! Check it out here: http://www.sephora.com/night-night-treatment-kit-P382716?icid2=Julep_Treatments_Carousel_P382716_image. This kit comes with a Skin Repair Serum, which you can use on your cuticles, hands, and face; and a Hand Crème, which is heavenly. The key here is putting only 1 drop of serum on your cuticles, then slathering your hands with the crème, then putting on light cotton gloves, and going to bed right after. Normally, I hate to have anything on my hands or feet while sleeping, but my misery drove me to make an exception in this case, and I’m SO glad I did.

Heavenly! Julep Night Night Treatment

Heavenly! Julep Night Night Treatment

If you have any miracle cures yourself for these vexing, agonizing cracks, please let me know. I’d love to share them with our HH family and friends!

Here’s to your happy hands!

Brooke

Happily ever after!

Happily ever after!

Leave a Reply

