Vegan Almond Butter Cookies

almond butter cookies

I’m not much of a cookie eater these days, and while I don’t have a sweet tooth in the normal, eat-every-baked-good-set-before-me kind of way, I DO like both my green juices and my cocktails pretty darn sweet (the HH ladies can attest to that!). However, when the holidays come a knockin’, I love to buy 3 shiny, new Christmas cookie magazines and just lose myself in all the recipes and pictures. Mind you, I will only ever make exactly 1 cookie recipe out of the 100 I look at, but this process works like a mental pacifier for me. I can’t explain why I love it so much, but if you take a look at Martha Stewart’s annual Christmas cookie issue, I really don’t need to give you a reason. Her photos are so beautiful, it could be a freakin’ coffee table book!

Each season, I like to find a new go-to cookie that I can make over and over again for all kinds of occasions and gifts. This year, as I prepared for a cookie exchange party, I decided to look for a healthier cookie a bit out of the ordinary. Boy, did I find one—it’s vegan and it’s scrumptious! This little gem is wheat free and dairy free (although not sugar free*), so it’s a perfect treat for those people in your life with dairy, wheat, or gluten sensitivities.

*Note about sugar: This recipe calls for brown sugar, so I used organic brown sugar, the healthiest I could find at the store where I was. However, you might be able to substitute either stevia or coconut sugar for the brown sugar and come out with a crazy-good cookie as well. Good luck!

Vegan Almond Butter Cookies

Makes 36 cookies

  • 1 Tbsp ground flaxseeds or flaxseed meal
  • 3 Tbsp water
  • 1 c. smooth almond butter
  • 1 c. packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch sea salt

1. Preheat your oven to 350°F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper, if needed.

2. In a small bowl, mix the flaxseeds with the water and let stand for at least 5 minutes.

3. In a large blender bowl, with the mixer on low, blend together the almond butter, brown sugar, baking soda, vanilla, salt, and soaked flaxseeds until thoroughly combined.

4. Using your hands, gather about a tablespoon of dough and shape the dough into a round ball about ¾-inch across. Place the balls on your cookie sheet about 1½ inches apart. Bake until relatively flat (not a rounded puff), about 11 or 12 minutes. These cookies are delicate, both before and after cooking and tend to crumble easily. I found it helpful to leave the cookies on the sheet for a minute or two after taking the sheet out of the oven before using my spatula to transfer the cookies to a wire cooling rack.

5. Repeat Step 4 with the rest of the dough.

6. Store your cookies in an airtight container.

(Adapted from Good Housekeeping Christmas Cookies!)

I’ve shared these cookies with many friends and family members, and I have yet to find someone who doesn’t love them. Happy baking and sampling!

XO, Brooke

Leave a Reply

