Keepin’ It Cool in 2014

Keepin’ It Cool in 2014

Image

Who knew chilling out would be so tough some days?

The new year came and went, and not much changed, did it? If you’re like most people, you’re hopeful that, as the ball drops, so will your stress levels, pounds, and worries. After all, it’s a brand new year; a clean slate; or something I heard often this year, a new chapter and blank page in your life’s book.  Something I focus on with my clients is the concept of mini goals and small steps. I think you should dream big, aspire to great things, and expect excellence from yourself. However, I also feel that a lot of mini goals equal big accomplishments.

I also believe in daily positive affirmations. I have post-it notes on my bathroom mirror to remind me of fundamental truths, core values, and admirable character traits I want to emulate with my daily work. I can’t control what the day will bring, but I can control how I’ll react. I react to everything better when I nurture my holistic health—when my body, mind, and spirit are on their A-game.  When I feel negative emotions creep in, I have several go-to actions I take. I’ll share those in another blog. For this one, I want to share a snapshot of simple ways to keep your cool and get back on track when you have a physical, mental, or emotional set-back.

ImageImage

Flavored Ice Cubes

When you’re moody, sad, hungry, irritated, stop what you’re doing immediately, pour a glass of iced water and drink. Did you know ice is an anti-inflammatory property? Our bodies get inflamed quickly during periods of trauma and stress. Plus, many times we allow ourselves to get dehydrated throughout the day. Both problems solved! Not a fan of plain water, create a collection of flavored ice cubes. Here are some of my favorites:

Berry Nice

Fill an ice cube tray halfway with pureed raspberries (or your favorite berry) and freeze. Top with water then freeze again. Top with almond milk and you have a perfect cube for your next cup of iced English tea.

When Life Gives You Lemons…

Fill your ice cube tray with lemonade mixed with thinly sliced basil leaves and freeze. Awesome in water and tea!

Spa Time

Juice cucumber and lime together and pour mix into your ice cube tray. Now you can escape for a bit by adding these to a glass of water.

Image

Grab a magazine, book, or ear buds and relax while you detox!

Soak Your Feet

When panic or negativity strikes, reset your body with an ionic foot soak. This procedure works to detox you at the cellular level, helping you cope with internal strain. Find an Ionic Cleansing Professional in your area or grab your own device here to use in the privacy of your own home. (Training is required and provided.)

Treat Yourself

A fan of juicing? Do you miss summertime? My answer to both is YES! When I am feeling crabby or blue, I reach into my freezer for a homemade popsicle. Depending on your taste preferences and needs, you can create a myriad of tasty possibilities to help you chill out for a moment and think a bit clearer. Fill popscicle molds with one of the three recipes for ice cubes above, or for a treat, here’s a good recipe:

Berry Cool

Puree your choice berry and fill the mold with half of the puree and half almond milk, then freeze to enjoy as desired (or needed.)

ImageImage

Stay cool, friends! –Lacey

Leave a Reply

