Yuck! My Child has head lice! Yuck! I said it.

Hey parents, Kathy here. This week’s blog is not on a great healthy recipe or fun fashion tip.  Its the dreaded elementary school nightmare…head lice.  My story started about two weeks ago, my daughter was scratching her head like crazy.  I checked her head which was pretty easy because at 6 she still doesn’t have much hair and found no lice and no nits.  Nits are lice eggs that look little whitish gray bulbs and attach on the  hair shaft usually behind the ears and along the hairline. I thought she just had dry scalp from the change in weather and put coconut oil on her scalp. We did this for a week but she continued to scratch her head so hard she had scabs. I checked again and again and still no sign of lice and no eggs.

Image

After going on a Girl Scout camp-out another mother reported her daughter had a few nits in her hair and wanted to let all the moms know so we could treat our daughters.  I went to my local drug store to buy some RID or Nix and planned to treat my daughter that evening. After reading the ingredients on the box,  I decided I better research them before putting them on my child’s head.  With a quick Google search I found out the chemicals in those treatments are pesticides, insecticides and neurotoxins.  Many of the chemicals have been deemed illegal for livestock and pets yet here they are sold in a box to treat children as young as 6 months.  You can imagine with repeated use, this would not be good for a developing baby, child or even adult for that matter. Its frustrating and confusing to realize the treatment is far worse than the lice.

Now that I have that off my chest, don’t despair I found there are several other brands of lice removal products such as Quit Nits and Fairy Tales  that are made from non-toxic, non-chemical pesticides.  You may have to go to a few drugstores or maybe a Whole Foods to find the product but its worth it.  I treated my daughter and me with Quit Nits.  We applied a solution which smelled amazing  and slept in shower caps overnight which were provided with the kit.  In the morning we both had the softest, best smelling hair ever.  And after combing my daughter’s hair with the comb provided I found 2 dead bugs. Yuk!

My take away for you, if your child’s head is itching so bad so has scabs from scratching, treat her even if you don’t see anything they are probably there! My sweet girl suffered longer than she needed to and we may have unknowingly passed it on to other kids.  Secondly, don’t buy the brand your parents used on you as a child there are safer non-toxic products out there! 

Helpful Tips and Links

  • Machine wash and dry clothing, bed linens and other items that the infested person wore or used during and before treatment using the hot water.
  • Items that are not washable should be sealed in a plastic bag and stored for two weeks.
  • Replace or soak combs and brushes in hot water for 15 minutes.
  • Vacuum the floor and furniture, particularly where the infested person sat or lay. 
  • Note, the risk of getting infested by a louse that has fallen onto a rug or carpet or furniture is very small. Head lice survive less than one to two days if they fall off a person and cannot feed; nits cannot hatch and usually die within a week.

Quit Nits http://www.quitnits.us

Fairy Tales http://www.fairytaleshaircare.com/?gclid=CPqmoLSb9roCFUVp7AodsmEATA

http://www.publicintegrity.org/2011/09/06/6123/crawling-issue-head-lice-treatments-worse-pest-itself

Leave a Reply

