Holiday Travel Smarts

Image

My nieces and nephews are always a welcomed sight, and always keep me on my toes!

‘Tis the season to travel to loved ones. It’s also historically the season that leaves us prone to germs, fatigue, weight gain, and illness.

Do you know what nature’s antibiotic is? Oregano Oil!

The research is in: those who enjoy the Mediterranean diet live longer, healthier lives. A recent study found that the Mediterranean diet reduces the risk of obesity, heart disease, hypertension, cancer…even Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s disease. Nature has a phenomenal way of producing natural food sources imperative to maintaining health and vitality.

And since I cannot pick up and move to Greece for close access to these beneficial mediterranean foods and lifestyle, I improvise and partner with quality companies who bring such healthy goodness to me. As part of the holistic lifestyle I maintain and in nutritional guidelines I follow, a product called ImmuneCleanse stays in my purse as a daily shield against unwelcome bacteria, fungus, yeast, parasites and viruses. (I know right, ew!) It helps alleviate pain, fight infection, and the regeneration of liver cells. I don’t leave home without it, and if you ever looked in my purse or clutch, you’d see the small bottle in there! Five drops of the potent combination of essential and beneficial oils is all you need.

Did you know that chronic inflammation is the major precursor to virtually all illnesses, including heart disease? By reducing the amount of swelling and pain associated with inflammation in your body, you nurture an environment of health, vitality, and wellness.

I discuss these and other powerful health warriors to support a life of wellness and vitality in a webinar coming soon to your computer. If you’re interested in learning more about orthomolecular nutrition and why I have partnered with LectroLife Technologies to nourish my cells and support my holistic lifestyle, message me at: lectrofit@gmail.com or through the Healthy Housewives website.

ImageIn the mean time, here are some of my favorite travel tips to help you stay well this holiday season. ‘Tis the season to be jolly friends and healthy people are the jolliest people.

1. Pack a snack bag: I enjoy convenient, nourishing bars for quick fuel, Spark drink packets, almonds, and a separate trail blend (pistachios, sunflower seeds, cranberries, almonds, and cashews.) Don’t fall prey to the carb-heavy, fat-laden options most available in airports and during flights.

2. DAILY activity. Yes you can! Most of us don’t work out as aggressively as needed to justify a “day off.” With so many activity options, there’s something for every body and every day! If I have a particularly aggressive workout one day, I’ll choose to perfect my Yoga skills the next day, then maybe a long, mind-clearing run the following day. So many factors dictate how I can move my body on a given day, but the important thing is to move. your. body. for at least 30 minutes a day.

3. Watch the booze! Expect to lose water with every alcoholic beverage you consume. Further, expect to consume excess salt and sugar, as you dehydrate yourself. I’m not saying, don’t drink, but I am saying, be smart! I’m also reminding you to chug-a-lug water. One glass per alcoholic beverage during the event and one full glass before bedtime. (If you have a small bladder, make your full glass of water the last thing you consume one hour prior to bedtime, so you have time for it to “run its course.”

4. Hydrate often! Travel sucks the water out of you, so its even more important to drink lots of water while on the road or in the air. I travel with one empty water bottle and one full one, so I can refill on demand. If I am flying, I empty both before security and refill afterward. I also have a ‘shaker’ for my Spark drink when needed. During the flight, I only order water. It just doesn’t make sense to me to order a sugary, caffeinated, or alcoholic beverage when I know I’ll be sitting for a while.

5. Protein for breakfast–always! My go-to food is the good old fashioned egg. If you’re Vegan, I hear steel cut oats with nuts and berries in it is the way to go. Starting your day off with quality protein helps you out in several ways: boosts your metabolism, satisfies you for longer, and gives you sustained energy to tackle the day. In my experience, if I start my day with a protein-rich breakfast, I make better food choices the rest of the day.

Image

You don’t have to feel stressed, overworked, and tired over the holidays. This is the season of blessings and joy! Would you like to experience the holidays as you were meant to experience them–with a body full of energy and celebration? Join me as I discuss a collection of research data and experience of over 30 years in the health and wellness industry.

Be well, friends and have a blessed, healthy holiday.  —Lacey

Leave a Reply

