Made to Crave

Image

Yes, Made to Crave is a book by one of my favorite authors, Lysa Turkeurst, and no, this is not a book review.  I haven’t completely finished the book, so I can’t spoil it for you, but it is a book that discusses how women want to be healthy, yet are tempted by strong cravings from time-to-time. Furthermore, it’s spiritual empowerment that can grow inner strength against our caving to cravings.  Sounds amazing, right? I’m not too proud to admit that some days, all I want is sugar, sugar, and maybe a side of icing. I’m pretty health-minded, and most days I fuel my body for success and energy, but there are still “those days.”

As I read along Lisa’s journey, I was inspired to build strength in my own mind, which then took me on a journey to find out why we crave what we crave. What does it really mean when I crave sugar, or salt, or pastries, or meat, or starchy carbs? What I found is that it’s usually a deficit in my body that causes the cravings. Aside from emotional imbalance, if my body is lacking somewhere, it’ll send masked signals to my brain that I want something I really don’t. Not very nice, right? The good news is that through mental strength work, spiritual growth, and emotional stamina, we don’t have to cower to our cravings any longer.

I’d like to equip you with some of the facts I found during my research about cravings, with hope that it helps you along your journey toward a healthier lifestyle.

Image

Sugar cravings = Chromium, Carbon, Phosphorus deficit

Solution: consume fresh fruit, meats, eggs, dairy, cheese, raisins, sweet potatoes, nuts, or seeds

Starchy Carb cravings = Nitrogene deficit

Solution: consume high protein foods, fatty fish, nuts, beans, or chia seeds

Salty Cravings = Chloride and Silicon deficit

Solution: consume fatty fish, goat milk (yuck), cashews, nuts, and seeds

Chocolate Cravings = Magnesium deficit

Solution: consume nuts, seeds, veggies, and fruits

I realize there may be other cravings out there, but these are the most popular I hear about from clients and from my own personal battles. For more information on the subject, consider reading Made to Crave or visiting www.foodaddictioninstitute.org.

As always, I believe the more educated we are about how to properly and holistically care for our bodies, the healthier we will be all around. We were made for that, too!  Lacey Pruett

One Trackback to “Made to Crave”

Leave a Reply

