Vegetarian Buffalo-Style Chick’n Pizza

Can you say yum?

Can you say yum?

Morning, Friends! Brooke here. I know it’s a bit early to be discussing dinner plans, but have I got a treat for you! This one goes out to all you vegetarians out there (it’s ok . . . you non-veggies can join in too). If you want to wake up your taste buds and impress your hungry family, you’ve got to try this recipe. Or as I like to call it—a new twist on an old favorite.

Welcome to Aggieland
An Aggieland Classic
If any of you guys are a member of the Fightin’ Texas Aggies as I am (Class of ’97—WHOOP!), you will know of the greatness of Wings ‘N More, situated in the heart of Aggieland. Before I committed to a vegetarian (and much healthier) lifestyle, Wings ‘N More was a frequent stop of mine during my college years. They served chicken wings dripping in fiery Tabasco-like sauce customizable from mild to extra hot and full of garlic (yum!!), with celery and ranch or blue-cheese dressing on the side to cool the flames. And then the coup de grâce . . . razor-thin onion rings fried to a crispy golden-brown, served with tasty ketchup. I didn’t even like onion rings before then—that’s how good they were. Looking back now, my fond memories of this sweet time are tinged with horror at my eating wings and my disgust of the fried, fatty, delicious saltiness of it all. No wonder my stomach was always upset after these meals! Well, I eventually graduated and came to my senses, but that tangy, fiery sauce haunts my memories to this day.
A Healthy Reinvention
Imagine my joy when I discovered a better, blood-pressure-friendly version of that killer combination so loved long ago (in a pizza no less!). As a vegetarian, I often grow weary of the mental math of potential substitutes needed every time I find a tasty recipe that calls for meat of some kind. Really? Does everything have to include meat to be a meal? No! Thankfully, this recipe was easy for me to adapt, and even more thankfully, my non-vegetarian husband loved it. Success! Now it’s your turn . . .
Vegetarian Buffalo-Style Chick’n Pizza
• Whole-wheat pre-made pizza crust (I used Boboli®)
• 1 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
• 3 Quorn® Naked Chick’n Cutlets, cooked and shredded (each cutlet is equivalent to approx. 3-4 oz. regular chicken)
• 3 stalks of celery, sliced thinly
• 2 green onions, sliced thinly
• 2 Tbsp Tabasco® or other hot sauce, and another 1 Tbsp for garnish
• 4 oz low-fat blue cheese
• Dash of dried oregano, basil, or parsley for garnish (optional)
Note: This recipe makes a pretty chunky topping. If you like fewer toppings and more crust, use 2 chick’n cutlets, 2 stalks of celery, 1 green onion, 3 oz blue cheese, and (perhaps) a bit less hot sauce—your call 😉
1. Preheat your oven to 450°F.
2. Put your pizza crust on a baking rack set on top of a cookie sheet.
3. Lightly brush the olive oil over the crust (for a golden finish and a bit of healthy fat).
4. In a medium bowl, combine the chick’n, celery, green onions, and 2 Tbsp of the Tabasco until everything is well coated.
5. Spread chick’n mixture over the pizza crust, leaving about 1 in. of crust uncovered around the edges. Pat the mixture evenly across, ensuring a balanced blend of celery and chick’n pieces. Crumble the blue cheese over the mixture, and drizzle the remaining 1 Tbsp of hot sauce over the top. Beautiful!
6. Bake for 8-10 minutes or so, checking the crust and cheese for goldening (yes, I just made that word up!).
7. Take the pizza out of the oven and sprinkle oregano, basil, and/or parsley across the top. Slice and enjoy!
I hope you enjoy this pizza as much as we did. Have a great week and gig ‘em!
XO, Brooke

gig em ags 2

Leave a Reply

