Meet Ya at the Barre?

Image

Saying, “I’ll meet you at the bar,” just got a little sassier. The bar I’m talking about is so cool, it has an extra RE to its name… Barre; as in RE-invent yourself; RE-define girls’ night; RE-prioritize your schedule. Barre Bee Fit was the location of my inspiration to challenge myself into an entirely different fitness level. When I first visited the new studio in Dallas, Texas, I arrived anxious, fearful, and a little nervous that I wouldn’t be able to finish the class. Running marathons I can do, but holding ballet poses, pulsing, and maintaining a flexible perception for one hour left me less than confident.

When I arrived, I heard energetic music coming from a large, open room to my right. To my left were some of the friendliest, leanest, and happiest ladies I’ve met. Any place I get to wear leggings and socks, I’m a fan of—especially on a cold, rainy evening like we were having that day. Any chill in the air disappeared as we started class.

Image

I love a fitness instructor with a rockin’ playlist. The playlist really makes the instructor, in my opinion. It’s definitely a first impression thing. If I were dating instructors, I would ask to see their playlist before agreeing to meet them. Music therapy is a tool used in the quest for holistic wellness, so don’t under-estimate the power of music as it relates to your energy level and mood.

Kelsey was our instructor for interval barre class. To be honest with you, I didn’t know what interval barre meant, but I knew it would be challenging and fun. Now, let me confirm—interval barre is aggressive cardio with strength training set to an awesome playlist. Adam Levine takes you to your final seconds of a plank hold and Imagine Dragons serenade you at the barre lifts. At one point, I thought Kelsey went crazy and doubled our reps. No such luck—this was all intentional and part of her well-crafted, aggressive class choreography.

Kelsey isn’t the enemy anymore, but coming to class on an empty stomach was my rookie mistake, and my new enemy. Noted. Kelsey is the perfect combination of aggressiveness and affirmation. As a matter of fact, this barre is inspiring with words of affirmation decorating every corner of the studio. If you start to give up on yourself, just look at the walls and read. Game back on!

Image

Barre class isn’t the time to get soft, and I felt the energy in my class get tougher as we moved through the hour. The consistent but not over-bearing direction, coaching, counting, and interval announcement from Kelsey was appreciated when I stopped thinking altogether.

As the music became slower and graceful, I realized I was dripping with sweat and parts of me were twitching from the muscle work. As we stretched, I felt a surge of energy… or was it pride? Either way, I felt accomplished and glad I went to the barre that night. If you live in Dallas, I am jealous. I drive 25 miles to attend classes at Barre Bee Fit in the Design District. Those of you looking for a challenge, to jump start the holidays with a fit bod, or to experience a new kind of barre, check out www.barrebeefit.com and sign up for a class at the Dallas location. If you’re a Facebooker, like them at http://www.facebook.com/BarreBeeFitDallas.

Image

Go ahead… raise your personal bar and experience a new kind of sexy. You’ll be dripping with sweat from you hair to your grippy socks, but feel like a supermodel. Try it and RE-peat!   –Lacey

P.S. I meant to get a photo with Kelsey after class, but I completely forgot. I’ll have to go back. 🙂

One Trackback to “Meet Ya at the Barre?”

Leave a Reply

