It’s Okay!

Its OK3Do you feel the pressure lately? Always? I’ve been doing pretty well with the ol’ balance game lately, but something happened to me yesterday. I walked into a store to fulfill some to-do list items and saw it. The Christmas section. A dagger of panic struck me and sucked me into a “running behind” feeling; almost like I did something wrong because I hadn’t yet thought about the holidays or decorating for Christmas. Then I looked to the left and saw the Halloween section still on steroids. I felt some relief. You realize we do this to ourselves, right? I started to wonder how much of the life pressures I feel are self-inflicted? Sometimes, it’s okay that we haven’t… fill in the blank. Does the world end? Chances are, no.

For the remained of my day, situations kept happening that elevated my concern. Internally, I replied, “it’s ok.” After a while, I made myself laugh because of how often I had to “talk myself down from a mini-panic.” I’ll share that I may have a problem here, but I am on it. So, in my A-personality, planning nature, I made a list of reasons it’s all going to be okay.

It’s okay if your house isn’t decorated for every holiday.

It’s okay if you skip a year of holiday cards.

It’s okay if you don’t post ‘Happy Birthday’ on Facebook for everyone.

It’s okay if you don’t check your email, social media, or voicemails on the hour.

Further more, it’s okay if someone waits for an e-response for more than a day. If it’s really important, they should call.

It’s okay if you spill something on yourself. Instant conversation starter!

Repeat to yourself, “It’s not devastating.” 9 times out of 10, it’s not, and if it happens to be that unfortunate, still say it to calm yourself a bit.

Its OK2It’s okay that you had to cancel. Apologize once, sincerely, and don’t make it a habit.

It’s okay that you’re milking another week out of your hair color/highlights; Create new up-dos.

It’s okay that you missed a workout. That becomes your rest day, and you’re still on track.

It’s okay if someone misunderstood you. You can’t control other people. Address if you feel it’s appropriate, or just let it go. Chances are, it’ll pass without effort.

It’s okay if you trip; laugh immediately. You’ll feel better.

Its OK

It’s not okay to be mean. Don’t be mean.

Peace friends—Lacey

Leave a Reply

