Healthy and Delicious Homemade Almond Milk

Homemade Almond Milk

I have been quite proud of myself for taking dairy milk out of my home a long time ago.  Occasionally, I have unsweetened almond milk in my coffee and thats about it for me.  But my daughter still loves the taste of milk and especially chocolate milk.  I usually rotate through all the milk alternatives at Whole Foods but I always feel uneasy with my purchase realizing  I’m giving her a highly processed beverage with lots of added sugars and synthetic ingredients but feeling its better than cows milk in small amounts.

All of this has led me to experiment in the kitchen, testing lots of almond milk recipes trying to find that perfect blend of taste, sweetness and consistency that my six year won’t turn her nose up at.

So after lots of recipes and trial and error, I found an almond milk recipe that we both love!


Remember to soak your almonds the night before you prepare and discard the soaking liquid.  A reusable nut milk (found on Amazon.com or kitchen store) makes straining the milk much easier, but cheesecloth and a wire mesh strainer can also be used.

Homemade Almond Milk

Makes: 3 1/2 cups (strained)

Ingredients:

  •  1 cup raw almonds, soaked for 24 hours in water

Vanilla Almond Milk

  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • Dash of Pink Himalayan sea salt
  • 3 cups filtered water – I use Essentia Water
  • 3 pitted Medjol dates

Chocolate Almond Milk

  • 1/4 cup organic unsweetened cocoa or cacao powder
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • Dash of Pink Himalayan sea salt
  • 3 cups filtered water (Essentia)
  • 3 pitted Medjol dates

Directions:

  1. Place almonds in a large bowl and completely cover with water.  Soak overnight.
  2. Pour prepared almonds in a colander and rinse.
  3. Next, add the almonds to a high powered blender.  I use a Vitamix. Pour in the filtered water, vanilla, dates, and (cocoa powder for chocolate) and sea salt.
  4. Blend on high until milk is smooth. Taste and adjust flavor as desired and blend again (if you added more ingredients).
  5. Strain milk using a nut milk bag or cheesecloth placed over a mesh strainer.
  6. Milk may be stored 3-4 days. If milk separates shake well before serving.

Enjoy!

Kathy

Leave a Reply

