All About Energy

Need more energy? Everywhere I turn, someone somewhere is asking for tips for more energy. As a wellness professional, I’m wondering why nobody asks about their lack of energy, and about probable causes for little get-up-and-go.

Alas, most people are in need of more energy, especially as we move through the hectic fall season and into the—gasp—holiday season. No fear. Abundant energy is awaiting you. Choose your favorite source and move forward with gusto!

Stock Your pantry!

Bananas

In addition to providing valuable nutrients, including potassium, vitamin C, and vitamin B6, bananas are a good source of carbohydrates. A plain banana makes the perfect preworkout snack. For something more substantial, mix one into a smoothie, spread one with nut butter.

Peanuts, Peanut Butter, and other Nuts and Nut Butters

Nut butters have been called an athlete’s best friend: Because they provide “fuel and sustained energy,” they’re a great sports food and actually one of the “best diet foods around.” Nuts and nut butters are good recovery foods because they have a combination of protein and carbs, while their healthy, heart-protecting fats keep you going over the long haul.

A Favorite Go-To Energizing Recipe:

Image

Roll a banana in your favorite wrap. Drizzle a little honey and sprinkle with cinnamon. Add dried fruit on top, if desired.

Spinach

Combine leafy greens with a lean protein and you have an athlete’s power house for sustained energy and muscle repair. Toss in some carbs, too, for a high-energy meal.

Beans

Legumes are a great source of both protein and carbs in a heart-healthy and inexpensive package. Toss them into salads, soups, stews, chilis, and pasta dishes, or serve with quick-cooking brown rice and jarred salsa for a superfast supper.

Oranges

When you exercise, your muscles receive tiny tears—the vitamin C in oranges and many other fruits helps repair them.

Dried Fruit

People sometimes shy away from dried fruit because it can pack a lot of calories, but its portability, nutrient density, and easy-to-access carbs make it a healthy choice for longer workouts such as hiking and biking.

Stock Your Supplement Cabinet

Image

For early morning workouts, clients, or appointments, I use Advocare’s Spark. As a coffee lover, I appreciate the caffeine and blend of vitamins and minerals to jumpstart my day. The amino acids support the aggressive workout I’m about to put myself through.

Ultimate O2Ultimate O2 (from LectroLife Technologies) is a spray that promotes the transfer of oxygen into the bloodstream. I keep it in my purse for daily use. One to two sprays directly on my tongue provide atomized energy, oxygen, and peppermint oil to support an energized perspective to whatever I am doing,

Essentia Water—never underestimate the power of a hydrated body. When in doubt, chug a glass of water.

Stock Your Night Stand

Lavender

Lavender Essential Oil

Lavender is an adaptogen, and therefore can assist the body when adapting to stress or imbalances. I like to close out my day with lavender oil on my temples and the back of my neck. It is a great aid for relaxing and winding down before bedtime, yet has balancing properties that can also boost stamina and energy.

A cool eye mask

I use mine because my husband falls asleep after me and sometimes watches the television. The night mask ensures a better chance of uninterrupted sleep.

A Journal

Sometimes my mind won’t turn off, so I jot down everything that pops into my mind and leave it on the nightstand. If it’s on the paper, it’s out of my head. I can deal with it tomorrow, after I am fully rested. 

In health, Lacey

Leave a Reply

