Dare to Be!

Image“I dare you.” Your 11-year old self still cringes at the sound of those three words. Or is it just me? It was definitely popular around South-Central Texas in the late 1980s to taunt friends and enemies alike with challenges, most of which I took, and from which I endured bruises, scrapes, and two rounds of stitches (that I can recall.) Then, as a teenager, the game “Truth or Dare” made its rounds at the parties I attended, and within my social circles. Oh, don’t gasp with innocence, you know you participated that one time. I digress… 

By the time I was in college, I got really good at being a dare-devil. I started the dancing on the dance floor. I wore yellow when everyone else was in black. I ran long-distances when everyone else slept in. Once I applied for a scholarship that marketed only to a specific race, of which I was not, simply to take a stand for equality–true equality. Basically, if you told me I couldn’t do something, I wanted to do it even more. And I did. Thankfully, I survived. 
 
As an adult, I recall taking less risks. The older I got, the less I challenged myself to step outside of my comfort zone. When did I lose my edge? Sure, maturity took care of some of it (e.g.; no more shot games of any kind. Period. Oh, and racing across a football field in your PJs (shorts and tank top) with your girlfriends on a snowy day isn’t cool anymore either), but a friendly challenge between you and your spouse, coworkers, friends, or even just challenging yourself every so often, reminds you that you’re alive. As long as you’re not harming yourself or others, get after it! For additional fun, grab a dare-devil buddy to dive in with you. 
 
Image
My niece decided on her own that the time was right (and she was tough enough) to get her ears pierced. She faced her fear, and now she sparkles even brighter than before with added confidence (and bling.) 
 
Folks, I think it’s time to bring back the “I dare you.” Perhaps, we can bring back the “I double-dog dare you.” (Who’s subconscious just recalled the movie, The Christmas Story?) What’s on your bucket list? What project are you going to finish before the end of the year? What race will you enter this fall? What karaoke song are you signing up for? Take the plunge! You weren’t born to sit on the sidelines and observe your life away. Get in the game! Face your fears! Challenge yourself to be comfortably uncomfortable! Go ahead… I dare ya! –Lacey Pruett 
Leave a Reply

