Healthy Traveling in a Zip (Lock)

As I travel around, eating healthfully and making good choices gets challenging at times. I have several travel buddies that make it easier. Check’em out:

1. Almonds: protein, good fats, convenient, no smell (for close quarters like airplanes). Also, you can add them to cups of oatmeal, yogurt, even an ice cream and/or frozen yogurt treat to offset the sugar a bit.

2. Freeze-dried Fruit: anti-oxidants, sweetness, vitamin C, adds flavor to oats, hot water/tea, mix with nuts for quick, pre-workout fuel

3. Chia Seed: Excellent for added crunchiness and fiber! It has no taste, so add to anything from chicken soup to eggs.

4. Oats/Steel Cut Oats: Great on-the-goal fuel. You can go to any restaurant vendor/coffee shop and ask for a cup of hot water. I haven’t been turned away yet. Put some of your cashews and dried cranberries inside for more vitamin punch.

5. Teavana Tea Bags: Soothing for the traveler’s soul. Calm anxiety or nervousness over potentially-delayed flights or long security lines with a cup of hot tea. Also, sip on a cup of tea to avoid excessive snacking on flights.

When traveling for more than three days at a time, I pack a baggy with the following: plastic spoon, fork, and knife; Stevia in the raw packets; Lavender essential oil (small tube); 100% lemon juice packets. Why?

I like to be prepared with my own utensils. Once, I settled into my seat with my freshly-made cup of steel cut oats, with crushed cashews and a sprinkle of stevia only to find myself without a spoon, or any access to a spoon. I won’t do that twice. If you want something sweet, there are way too many temptations around airports, so why not sprinkle some Stevia or dried fruit in something that needs a little bit of sweetness? I love the smell of Lavender and a little dollop comes in handy after a full day of traveling, or several hours in an airport. A few deep breaths, and I’m a new person. A drop goes a long way, which is why only packing a small tube is necessary. Finally, I’m confident that warm, lemon water will cure any digestive issue you encounter during travel.

A bonus beauty tip: I pack a separate baggie of emergency tools in my carryon with the following: blotting papers (let your personality shine; not your face–men and women!); three travel envelope-sized toothpaste for emergencies (chewing gum in public, especially within close quarters isn’t attractive); travel packets of sea salt (for food and lavender foot soaks in your hotel room). Sometimes I’ll pack anti-bacterial lotion (you can find these in travel sized envelopes too) as a refresher, if needed. Traveling dries your skin out!

Favorite Lunch/Dinner Tip:

Choose a restaurant that has spinach on the menu and order a large spinach (only) salad. Pull out your almonds, dried fruit, and chia seed and sprinkle each on your plate of spinach for a nourishing meal. If you choose to, order a chicken breast or fish filet to add into your salad, but go easy on the sauces.

If you ever see me in an airport or on your flight, you know what I’ll have with me! I’ll have extras to share too. Happy traveling! –Lacey

20130828-001321.jpg

One Comment to “Healthy Traveling in a Zip (Lock)”

  1. Great tips! I’m flying out to New York this weekend, and just so happen to be getting married next weekend, so the healthy tips are appreciated!

Leave a Reply

