Just the Juice, Please…

Image

I don’t understand why people say that juicing is expensive. My husband and I found ourselves in the market for another juicer after my overzealous, rushing tendency wrecked too much havoc on our old soldier juicer. There’s only so many times you can throw pieces in the sink and have them stay in tact. I know this isn’t a good quality and I am working on it. Not the point of this blog, however…

www.discountjuicers.com/compare.html

So here we are, researching what will become our new addition to the morning ritual of juicing. My husband wasn’t a fan at first. Well, let me back up… I wasn’t a fan at the very first. I thought juicing was wasteful, time-consuming, and unnecessary. Now, I consider juicing one of our best-kept beauty secrets with it’s ability to slow the aging process, hydrate our cells, reduce inflammation, and promote regular cleansing of your insides. Folks, this allows you to radiate on the outside! Forget the designer labels until you get this right–inside beautification equals outer room-stopper status.

Image

When I broke our juicer, I gasped immediately. How can we go on about our day? Our cells will be thirsty. My energy will be low. Mood swings? Weird food cravings? My husband grabbed my hand and talked me off my proverbial ledge by reminding me I can just eat the fruits and vegetables I had laid out on the counter. How primitive of him.

The truth is, juicing isn’t the only way to glean the cell rejuvenation that occurs when your body is nourished with quality, absorbable vitamins, minerals, and nutritional elements like FIBER (my favorite F word)! However, juicing can save you time, frustration, and money if done correctly.

Saves Time: You don’t have to brew coffee, run through the Starbuck’s line, or cut up your produce into bite-sized pieces. Because you’re getting a robust amount of vitamins, fuel, and hydration to start your day, ditch the separate breakfast item/meal preparation. Your body doesn’t need it! You can pour your juice is a glass and take it into the bathroom (beautification station) with you to get ready for your day. No need to sit at the table and eat.

Saves Frustration: No guessing what creamer to use, what protein/carb ration to prepare for your meal, and no need to worry about cravings you have upon awakening. You’re about to prepare and pour yourself a big glass of “all you need” with your juice, so chug-a-lug and praise Jesus for the great day ahead. As you sip, start your day with appreciation… for your health, your relationships, and your juicer.

Saves Money: Yes, a great juicer runs about $200-$500. We go middle-of-the-road with a $350 model, on sale. My husband was surprised by the expense at first, but when I strategically wrote out the per day cost of our juicer, and explained that for pennies a day, we can experience better health, he gave the green light (or just got tired of listening to me justify the cost.) Separately, we are a Costco family and purchase our produce in bulk. This helps several ways! I hate waste. I hate the word hate and don’t use it much… until I do. And I mean it. I hate waste, so it becomes a game of sorts to use up all the produce we purchase in bulk. I’ve even made muffins out of the pulp and rinds to salvage some of that. Also, a glass of juice is so packed with nutrients that you’re body is satisfied for a while–no need to fill in with snacks and additional caffeine to make it through your morning.

Image

We went with the Omega 8005 series, and as suspected… I love it! My husband and I have a standing date at the juicing station each morning. If he’s in a rush, I’ll take it to him or prepare a “roadie.”

When I hear folks say, “I don’t juice because it’s expensive,” I have to dig deeper. If you add up the daily caffeine source, or the afternoon pick-me-up (or that sugary treat you just “had to have,”) I’ll bet you can purchase a high-powered juicer in about 2.5 or three months. If you need to save up this way, there’s no shame in it. Invest in your health, and stop buying into excuses not to. Use the saving up time as a spiritual sacrifice or a detox of sorts. You’re detoxing from lesser nourishment to propel yourself into glam-dom. In the mean time, nourish the old-fashioned way by consuming green vegetables at every meal. (My favorite breakfast is an egg, spinach, salsa wrap.)

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, there are three different types of juicers out there: centrifugal, masticating, and twin gear. We went with a masticating one–slower speeds ensure reaping more nutrition (and juice) from the produce, including beneficial enzymes. Mmmm….

Image

NEW JUICER TIP: Use a 1:3 ratio (fruit to leafy greens) to curb the bitterness of Kale, Collard Greens, etc…

If you’re in the market for a new juicer or are nervous about taking the plunge, let me know–I’d love to help.

Happy juicing, beautiful! –Lacey

OH, and P.S….

Image

Just sayin’… 😉

2 Comments to “Just the Juice, Please…”

  1. Quality articles is the secret to interest the people to visit the
    web page, that’s what this web page is providing.

  2. Admiring the time and energy you put into your site and detailed information you
    offer. It’s great to come across a blog every once in
    a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material. Wonderful read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

