I eat food….

“What do you eat?”–I must get that question a bajillion times a day. My answer is always, “FOOD!” I am not trying to be a smart a$% when I answer it that way, but its simply the truth. I don’t count calories. I know for a lot of people that works…but the problem is too many people look at the number versus the quality of the food. 100 calories of Oreos is still Oreos. For me, I like to just really think about the food that I am eating and putting into my body. The better the quality of the food and the more dense nutrition packed in there the more of it I can eat. I don’t necessarily have to worry about my portion control that way. Why? 

Did you ever wonder why you can sit down and eat an entire bag of chips or a an entire pizza pie and not be full?  Yet if you are eating a steak and sweet potatoes you fill up rather quickly with no room in your belly for more? Its because the steak and sweet potato are filled with dense nutrition which signals your body that its full. When you are eating those “empty calories” filled with zero nutritional value, your body requires way more to be satiated, at which point it never really is. So when I say I eat food, and I don’t have to portion or weigh it out, its because when you are choosing food that is whole and good for you, you will know when you are full. Its when you are choosing those items that are processed and have little to no nutritional value that you really have to weigh out your portions because otherwise you will overeat. 

Make better choices. Eat less food from boxes and more food from the Earth. So that next time someone asks you what you eat, you can say FOOD! Image

3 Responses to “I eat food….”

  1. Reblogged this on TransPremium and commented:
    I couldn’t have said it better! This is what healthy eating is all about. That is what we actually call “food”.

  2. And therein lies the “secret” to a sound body and mind!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

