It’s time to Organize and Simplify My Life!!

Happy Thursday Everyone! Wow! This month has been amazing! My little girl turned 6 and she had the most amazing themed birthday party. Mermaids and pirates in the pool! She was sooo incredibly happy, it made all the planning and running around in Dallas summer heat well worth all the work! From there I jetted (yes jetted!) off to LA with the Healthy Housewives for some amazing meetings in Hollywood! That trip required major packing and choosing all the right outfits! (okay maybe I overpacked a bit)! From LA back to Dallas to focus on getting my studio open! And there are so many details and many things you don’t even consider when opening a business – until you already needed them.

What I’m getting to is that while my life is the absolute best its ever been and just gets better day by day (because I say it aloud and work for it) and I’m so busy which is great for me too! My personal life organization and home organization have fallen miserably sadly out of control.

For example, most nights rather than cook dinner (because I didn’t plan, I end up picking up a (healthy) dinner (expensive – because it adds up daily).  I spend some play time with my daughter and before you know it, its bed time and I’m exhausted – half of the time I fall asleep with my clothes on with no proper ending of the day and no preparation for the following day.  I wake up in rush to get ready and my day has already started behind.

This morning, I woke, started with my rushing around and decided that’s it! Why I’m I always rushing, why can’t I anticipate and plan better? Well, I’m just not wired that way, I’m a creative type, more of a feeler than a thinker. Therefore, I’m always on the reactive! But that is not going to fly now, especially being a single mom business owner, with a very busy child, 3 dogs, a cat, a fish, a bird and oh ya a house.  Time to learn a new way before I sink any deeper! I will be the planner and in control of my time and daily personal routine!

I hope I haven’t bored you all, with my me, me blog but I know I’m not the only one out there feeling overwhelmed and angry with themselves for living this way! Its time to take control and it can be done!

My first step to getting on track! Google – “organization for my life” – after lots of silly tips and trying different search words – I came across http://andreadekker.com.  Self proclaimed “list maker and life simplifier”! Just what I needed! I will call her my Angel of Organization!

Her site has tons of useful information and make sense to me and the way I need to run a better organized life! She has free print outs for your planner with lists that actually keep you organized (not like the ones that come in your organizer – they never work for me) and you can even customize them again for free!

 

Screen Shot 2013-07-18 at 11.34.58 AM

Screen Shot 2013-07-18 at 11.26.51 AM

(screen shot from Andrea’s website)

 

Here from Andrea’s website are her top two tips for getting organized. 

1. Plan Ahead

If you’ve been reading my blog for more than a day, you know that I’m a huge advocate for planning ahead — even more so now that I’m a mom.

Menu planning, top-5 to-do lists, cleaning, blogging, family vacations, holidays, etc. — they are all simpler when I plan ahead.

There are so many things we can NOT plan for or predict, so anything you can do in the present to make the future less stressful will ALWAYS help to simplify your life.

2. Do It Now

A.K.A. don’t procrastinate!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Simple right! Well I know I wont be there overnight but I’m giving myself one week to be fully tuning into an organized, well planned personal routine! Wish me luck!!! And I wish you luck too! Kathy

Leave a Reply

