Farmer’s Market Fun

Image

Nobody picked up the produce for today’s celebration. Fifteen family members were about to show up at my door step for a afternoon of fellowship, fun, and well, most expected some food. Everything was displayed and ready to go, until someone asked, “where are the veggies for this dip?”

Image

Thank goodness, we live about two minutes from our local Farmer’s Market, and since I needed some fresh air, I offered to make the run. Leaving two of my friends, mid-conversation, and leaving some haif-filled tea glasses, I broke “party host code” and left the party–temporarily. 

Five minutes at the Farmer’s Market left me refreshed, renewed, and possessing a fresh supply of locally-grown, organic, delicious produce. Here’s an in-depth perspective into what you you’ll find as you drive up to your local Farmer’s Market. I encourage everyone to give it a try; not necessarily when you have a house filled with party guests. 

Image

  • Friendly People: Everyone greeted me with a smile, and I instantly felt gratitude for purchasing locally-grown produce and homemade food products. It warms your spirit to know you’re supporting the local farmers and ranchers, economy, and encouraging a healthy, organic perspective in your friends and family. Positive vibes all around.
  • A Variety of Options: I went with produce on the brain, but I also found a nice nut/seed blend to display for my guests during conversation, in between meal times. I also found some favorite scented candles made from organic materials by a lady who lives in the town next to me. (I got her business card, because she happened to be there re-stocking.) I picked up several nut butters made by the family of the rancher who’s meat products are at the Farmer’s Market. (Who doesn’t need a good, organic cashew butter around for surprise house guests, and hungry teenagers?) I even walked away with a funny sign to display in our backyard that reads: Backyard Guests Are The Best. 
  • A Positive Spirit: Driving home, I reflected on my purchases, feeling proud and accomplished over my nourishing options for my family and guests. I also enjoyed so many friendly smiles and the renewed confidence that most people want to and try to do the right thing for their health and their family’s health. I also feel that maybe we’re all in this together, and by joining forces (and visiting our local Farmer’s Market often) we quite possible can create world peace.

Check out: http://www.localharvest.org to locate a Farmer’s Market near you and experience the joy for yourself. For now, I’ll just pray for a peaceful, enjoyable afternoon of house guests.  –Lacey Pruett

One Comment to “Farmer’s Market Fun”

Leave a Reply

