Not 100%? Keep Moving!

Nike

Hi, Friends! It’s Brooke, here. One of my favorite ways to get fit is to lift weights. I love how it shapes my shoulders, gives me some guns, and brings curves to my quads. I also enjoy the measured counting of reps and the way my mind is forced to focus on the weights instead of the 101 other things running through my head. But lately I’ve been off my game, staying too busy and stressed out to do the things that help me be less busy and stressed out. I know I’ve not eaten well enough, and I’ve started to get that uptight catch in my breath again, that tell-tale sign of anxious, shallow breathing. It’s time to get moving again, but where to start?

hero
The best place to start is right where you are. So where am I? I’m in a beautiful hotel in Los Angeles, and despite my best attempts, I’m a little undernourished and dehydrated. But I’ve found some free time to hit the fitness center. I don’t feel as prepared mentally or physically as I usually do, but I’m going with what I’ve got. That’s the thing about committing to something. You do what you’ve told yourself you’re going to do, regardless of whether the conditions are right. And what could be more important than keeping your body strong and healthy? You only get one, and the privilege of caring for it is awesome!
So, off I went. I did a tidy little workout, hitting just about everything. I listened to my muscles, pushed when I could and took it easier when I started feeling gross and clammy (the feeling you get when there’s not enough fuel in the tank but you push yourself anyway—I don’t recommend it). Honestly, my workout effort was about 70%, but at least I did it. I showed up and followed through, knowing next time will be better. No one feels 100% all the time, and if they do, I’d love to know their secret. But all it takes is a little momentum to get moving, right where you are.
Try This!
• Overhead shoulder press (2 sets of x 12)
• DB chest press (2 sets of 12)
• DB one-arm row (2 sets of 12)
• Bicep curls (2 sets of 12)
• Triceps extension (2 sets of 12)
• Squats (2 sets of 25)
• Swing lunges (2 sets of 10, each leg)
• Curtsey lunges (2 sets of 10, each leg)
• Switch squats on the BOSU (1 set of 15)
• Glute blaster (10 each leg: straight leg lifts, scorpion kicks, diagonal leg lifts, fire hydrants)
• DB crunches (1 set of 20)
• Lower leg lifts (1 set of 20)
• Russian twists (1 set of 20)
No excuses . . . just do it!
You got this,
Brooke

 

Leave a Reply

