Little Fighters

Hello regret. Hello defeat. Some days, my mind plays tricks on me and tries to convince me that I’ve got it all wrong. My outfit doesn’t match, I’m out dated and fatigued, and I surely won’t hit my goal by my deadline. What a beat down! Before you start to hear violins in your head, Pollyana is on mission with this blog, so you’re in for a treat. So, chin up rock star, and read on…

My husband and I are different. I’ll pause for your shock and amazement over that statement. We actively try to get on the same playing field before throwing any balls; however, I’ve been known to try to shoot a football on the 7th hole with a baseball bat, and he’s still on third base waiting to bring it all home for us both.

With music, I prefer pop hits to contemporary Christian artists, and he will sing every word (with a complimentary air guitar) of songs by hair bands with albums spanning from 1982 to 1995. (For the younger readers, album = CD.) We come together on good ol’ country music. On a recent road trip, he shared a favorite gem from the band, White Lion, called Little Fighter. He mentioned that this was a “grab the world by the… hand, kind of song.” I appreciate a good motivational speech, so I listened.

Has anyone heard the tales you tell?

Or the scars you wear?

I don’t think we do a good job of sharing our stories with others. They get the insta-photo or under 130 letters status update, but so much gets left up to interpretation. I can’t help but think that if we took the time to genuinely share more often, our relationships would be more meaningful and misunderstandings would subside. It makes me want to bring back afternoon tea, or slumber parties! I know nobody has time for that, but could we say some guiltless no’s to make room for some good story time and relationship building?

One of a kind, one who would never give in;

Even when they put a price on your head.

It stinks being the recipient of gossip, judgment, or slander, doesn’t it? It leaves you angry, sad, or bitter, and none of the three uplift your spirit or promote inner-peace. People can say, “oh what do they know?” but you’re still tender. At one time or another, we all have a target on our head that says, “attack!” Be prepared by remembering you are an original, and it’s okay if someone doesn’t understand. You’re not in charge of their education, nor will you change them. You’ll never know what road they are on, so love them from a far and move on being you’re one-of-a-kind self. I do know this… you are the expert at being you. Nobody can do it better, so own your role as boss.

Rise again little fighter and let the world know the reasons why

Shine again, little fighter, and don’t let them end the things you do.

You were born for a time such as this. Seize the day, and carry on your mission. Don’t let circumstance steal your joy. They are as fleeting as human emotion and the weather. Find the goodness in every situation, in every person… even if you can’t see too far past your current circumstance due to fear, pain, or anxiety. Be still and get lost in your own glorious, powerful soul. Believe in your unique self and get to know that fabulous being—you are so interesting. Everything that happens to you, glorifies your purpose, whether or not you are clear about what it is. You’ll know soon enough. Nobody can take your purpose, your skill, and your character from you—unless you let them. Don’t.

Without a weapon in your hand, you came to fight a war.

They took your life but didn’t know that you’d never die.

Tough days will happen, and you’ll feel hurt, pain, and other sadness. Remember, Pat Benatar told us that love is a battlefield. Though this is a given, seek out the joy and find strength in knowing that the pain is temporary. The sun will rise again; a smile awaits you not too far away. You just have to get up and let yourself be seen and heard.

You and I may have different specifics with our life story; however, I hope you give Little Fighters a listen and remember that you’re one of a kind, a shiny, precious gem, and a fighter! Nobody can take that away… it’s your inheritance from someone who loves you bunches. If you don’t feel so loved, message me and I’ll tell you where to find such unconditional love.

For me, I’m going to start listening to my husband more. He may be more of a conversationalist than I think. Or, he just may have great taste in music. Either way, I have to run… he’s home.

http://youtu.be/DaT8is6b3QA

Here’s a blast back to the ’80s hair band days when you were rockin’ your way to who you planned to be. Enjoy and cheers to you, friends!

–Lacey

20130623-124748.jpg

20130623-124814.jpg

One Comment to “Little Fighters”

Leave a Reply

