Drink More Water and Shed the Weight

 IMG_0955

Maybe my Grandma has been on to something all of these years.  My 85-year-old Grandma drinks more water than anyone I’ve ever seen. She also has a very specific way she likes her water. She prefers it slightly chilled, no ice, in a glass, and filled up only halfway.  So cute! Grandma has always preached to me the benefits of water. And yes, I do know there are lots of benefits to drinking water. It can make your skin look youthful and pretty, help headaches, help with digestion, and so much more. However, she never told me that by drinking more water I could actually lose water weight! We are right in the middle of swimsuit season; so what better time to pass on to you what I do to help me ignite my body into getting rid of water weight and to help jumpstart my system to losing weight fast.

When I was competing in the bodybuilding world I would walk into the gym or go to a competition and see those people carrying around their huge jugs of water.  I would always think this looked funny and wondered to myself why drinking that much water was really necessary. I finally get it.  Truth is that by drinking a lot of water, you are actually tricking your body into ridding the water more efficiently.  Just like when your body shifts into starvation mode and starts storing fat when you have a food fast, it also starts holding water when you don’t drink enough of it. So by changing up how much water you intake, you can teach your body to get rid of water instead of storing it. Studies actually show that drinking water before meals makes you eat less because you feel a little fuller.  The Public Health and Water Research went a step further and did a study to see if weight loss was also sustainable.  They split the study into two groups. One group drank two 8ounce glasses of water before their meals for 12 weeks and the other group did not.  At the end of the twelve weeks, not only did the patients who drank the pre-meal water lose an average of 4lbs., they also sustained the loss over time. Also, studies showed that when you couple drinking about two glasses of water before you consume a low caloric meal, you lose more weight than when are just solely on a low caloric diet alone.

For example, say I have a big event in a few weeks that I want to look my best for, there are a three things that I focus on in order to kick-start my system.  I have to strategically plan out my 1.) low caloric diet, 2.)water consumption and 3.) my workout routines. In this blog I am only going to focus on the water consumption part. So as far as the water part is concerned, not only do I just think to myself that I need to drink more water, I plan it out strategically.  It seems like a lot at first but after a few days I usually start getting more used to it. So here it is…I drink 2 full (16ounce) glasses before each meal and then two more glasses at my mid morning and then mid afternoon snack time. Think that sounds like too much? So did I. But when I am really getting serious about jumpstarting my system, this is one of the things I implement.  Obviously, it flushes me out pretty good and I end up going to the restroom more times than a pregnant woman. It gets annoying, but I try to keep in mind that it’s a good thing because I am shedding the water weight.  I’m not going to lie, remembering to drink all this water can be hard, so here are several ways that I try to keep it top of mind.

water

  • Keep your water visual. Keep it in your cup holder, on your desk at work, by your bed, or on your side table as you watch T.V. 
  • Keep track of your intake.  Studies show that any time you start tracking your diet plan the chances that you stick to it improve.  So I like to make a little chart and track my water as I go.  It’s one baby step at a time!
  • Set reminders.  Sometimes I get going so fast throughout the day so I set my alarm reminders throughout the day remember to drink my water.  I set it about 30 minutes before each mealtime, one for mid-morning, and then one mid-afternoon.
  • Carry it with you.  I try to carry it with me everywhere.  I am a sales rep so I drive around a lot.  I always keep one water bottle in my cup holder, then at least another full one in my car.
  • Change it up a bit.  If I get bored with the plan taste of water, I add a little lemon or lime juice to the water.  Or I add no-sugar, flavored club soda and make a no calorie drink.

 When I have a big event a few weeks away that I want to look my best for; managing my water intake is a key factor for me to look my best.  It’s just as important as sticking to my diet and workout plans. Don’t forget that if your really wanting to shed water weight, it is also important to watch your salt intake and stay away from alcohol. Both make your body actually retain more water weight and create a bloated look. Like I always say, this is what I do and this is what works for me.  So you might have to alter or play around with what works for you.

Happy Drinking!

Loren Silas

4 Responses to “Drink More Water and Shed the Weight”

  1. If some one needs to be updated with latest technologies after
    that he must be go to see this web page and be up to date daily.

  2. great issues altogether, you just won a brand new reader.
    What would you suggest in regards to your post that you simply made
    some days ago? Any sure?

  3. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say
    that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very
    soon!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

