That’s a Wrap!

“Hello, my name is Lacey, and I don’t make time to cook.” Whew! What a load off my shoulders to say that out loud. I don’t enjoy cooking, so there’s always something else to do. I love baking around the holidays, especially for other people, but I will go months without using the oven. My female ancestors are shaking a finger at me from heaven. My mother and grandmother just got a neck twitch of embarrassment over my culinary skills (or lack there of.) Even my little sister, who loves to create in the kitchen, reminded me on the phone this week, “but Lacey you don’t cook.” She said this in response to my excitement over my latest food creation. 

Image

The magnificent wrap has been a saving grace this year in my hurried world. Put aside the internal debate in your mind about whether or not making wraps is actually cooking. Cooking, preparing, and creating. Whatever your verb preference, bottom line is that I found something I could make that my entire family enjoys and my guests appreciate. The glorious wrap can be your answer to an afternoon tea party, cocktail reception, kid’s birthday party, last-minute “the game is on” gathering, a boat outing on the lake, or a romantic picnic. Wraps can be packaged to-go for a meal or snack in between errands, meetings, and kids’ athletic events or to share.

 Image

With two teenagers, a husband, and extended family to entertain this summer, I always get a bit anxious in response to, “what are we going to eat?” Recently, my husband and I were having coffee one Saturday morning when he looked outside and said, “Let’s go to the boat!” The children and I just stared at him… the pups stared at us… everyone to your battle stations! Kids scatter to grab the necessities: swimwear, sunglasses, and chargers; Husband goes straight to the garage on cooler duty; I head to the kitchen to prepare boat fuel (food) for everyone. Heaven forbid we’re stranded on the lake with no nourishment or hydration after all of the treading water and cannon ball jumps.

Image

We just got out of the water to take a break… back to treading water shortly…

I almost here angels singing as I evaluate our collection of wraps and fillers. It’s been a family affair to try and cycle toward an entirely non-GMO pantry, and I’m proud to say we are almost there. I’m even prouder of our family commitment to health and wellness, so when we can agree on a food decisions, my insides giggle. Some days, success means we eat very clean and discuss benefits of each meal, and other days it means a smaller portion of ice cream, less dressing on a salad, or including a side salad on pizza night. I’m proud of the children and my husband for taking steps in the right direction and making conscious decisions toward better health amid so many social and consumer pressures.

Image

Image

The art of making a wrap is beautiful. It’s flexible and simple—sort of like my approach to my fitness and wellness routine. Make it work for you! Choose your wrap (I’ve even used collard green leaves to wrap instead of a grain-based product), spread, protein, vegetable/fruit fillers, and topping—seeds, nuts, or even salsa. Roll it up. Grill it, or leave fresh and cool. I like to cut mine in half, so I eat it slower and so I can continue my conversation in between smaller bites as I eat.  

Image Image

I venture to say, one could live off of wraps. I’ve made egg wraps for breakfast, fish wraps for lunch, grilled veggie burger wraps for dinner, almond and apple butter with banana wraps (topped with cinnamon) for a movie night treat, and veggie wraps, turkey wraps, and hummus wraps for on-the-go meals. I even once prepared a salad to enjoy on our patio when plans changed and I needed to wrap up my salad and hit the road. Always remain flexible (and have a sense of humor.) There’s a wrap for everyone’s tastes because you’re in charge of what goes into it. Be creative and substitute if your dietary needs or goals require another ingredient. I don’t mind a bit… Now, about some boat drink recipes… next time!

My favorite power snack–almond butter, banana, and raisin wrap (sprinkled with cinnamon!)

Image

Enjoy! –Lacey

 

 

 

3 Comments to “That’s a Wrap!”

  1. Oh I LOVE wraps too!! Do you use gluten free or ezekiel wraps?? I have been so busy that my kids have been eating sandwiches with a side of fruit lately, but I know I could throw more things in a wrap to bump up the nutritional value!

Leave a Reply

