What Is Your Why?

 Have you ever thought about what your true motivation in life is? What is the fire that gets you up out of bed every morning? I was introduced to a preacher named Eric Thomas and I listened to one of the motivational talks he gave to a professional sports team. I have watched several of his You Tube videos and he gets me really fired up.  He really challenges people to dig deep, find their fire, and to use that fire to accomplish their goals and live a more fulfilling life.

 Why do I work hard from sun up to sundown to be my best? For me it’s two-fold. Number one, why am I driven to go to work everyday? And then secondly, why am I driven to work so hard with The Healthy Housewives. Yes, I love my job. Yes, I am passionate about health and fitness. But what REALLY drives me to wake up at 5:30 and not hit the snooze button? I am motivated to provide the best life I can for my daughter and my family. I am motivated to give her a better childhood than I had. I am also driven to motivate and empower as many people as possible to believe in themselves and live their best life. I am inspired to share my learnings in health and fitness to help people implement the right fitness plans into their life and feel their best.

A life-changing event in my life is when my parent’s got a divorce when I was eight. That was the point when I realized how stressful money burdens could be on a family. At that point, my mom was a substitute schoolteacher and was going to school at night to get her Master’s degree.  My father had just lost his job. They did their best to keep our lives “normal” and shield my brothers and I from the financial stress. However, we knew money was tight and a constant stress and I felt terrible that my activities added to that pressure.  At the time of the divorce, I was on the competitive team at gymnastics. That meant I was at the gym five days a week, which was pretty pricey. Of course gymnastics was a financial cut that my parents had to make. I was devastated at the thought. Athletics were my passion and my escape from my ever-changing family dynamics. I was fortunate enough that my coaches and gym offered to work with my parents through that difficult point. I don’t know what they worked out financially. However, I will forever be grateful to my coaches and all that were involved for caring enough about me to help my family and I through that time.  So at eight years old, I remember standing in front of the uneven bars one night at workout, asking my coach what it took to get a college scholarship. I hated feeling like I was being a financial burden on any one.  At that point, I told myself that if I wanted to go to college and follow my dreams that I was going to have to work hard and do it myself. Through hard work and some amazing people in my life, I ended up accomplishing my childhood dream of obtaining a full college scholarship and competing at a high level. I have achieved things in track and field, as well as life, that I never could have imagined.  And from that time is where I find a lot of daily my motivation. So many people have helped me through my journey. I want to give back and help people find their own strength and believe in themselves. I also am driven to provide the best life I can for my daughter and family, where finances aren’t a burden. Whether Landry wants to go to Harvard and become a doctor or if she even wants to be a professional ballerina, I want her to know that she can accomplish anything she wants. I am determined to provide the best life for her that I possibly can.

No, I don’t get rich doing The Healthy Housewives, nor do I do it because I just think I’m going to be on tv. Don’t get me wrong all of that would be a cool added bonus. Yes, I love the other ladies and have fun with them and all of the exciting things we do.  But what fuels me to help grow this brand? What drives me is helping people believe in themselves and helping them have the courage to go for their dreams. Through my unique journey I have learned so much.  I now have been so blessed with an opportunity and a platform that I am so passionate about. Through my athletics and passion for health, I have seen first hand how much better I feel and function when I eat right and workout regularly.  I am inspired daily to be my best self, so I in turn I can better help and empower other people.

I have told you my motivation. That is one of the moments in my life that drives me to get up every single day and be my best self.  So what is your why? What’s your motivation to do what you do?  And where does that motivation come from?  You have to have a greater motivation than to just be rich or skinny.  Dig deep and find your own true motive. Channel your own defining moments and use them to achieve your dreams and live a fulfilled life.

I hope you have a great weekend.

Loren Silas

3 Comments to “What Is Your Why?”

  1. I did a post on my why a month or so back on my other blog at healthbodiesandsouls(dot)com. You might enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

