Coffee please…..

I love the smell of coffee….there is something about waking up in the morning all groggy eyed, turning that coffee maker on and not only listening to the sounds of it brewing, but smelling the aroma wafting through the house. When I was a school teacher, it became part of my morning ritual to walk around my class in the morning with my travel sized mug. I hardly ever even finished the entire cup, but I loved the warmth around my hands. For me, coffee is more about ritual than it is about caffeine. I still drink one cup every morning, though, I don’t NEED it. There are many mornings, especially when I travel, that I choose to skip it. But I wanted to talk for a bit about coffee, what’s good and what’s not so good, and caffeine addiction. 

 

Coffee itself isn’t all that bad. Its what you put into it that makes the difference. I used to like just a little coffee with my creamer! I would try out all the fancy creamers that the grocery store had to offer AND put two sugar substitutes in it on top of it. Talk about sugar overkill! As I got more serious about my training, I decided that all the things I read said I could drink a cup of coffee before training, but that I had to aim to drink it black. ICK!!! I didn’t know if I could do it…so I started slowly. 

First I cut out the fancy creamer and switched to almond milk. I was already dairy free at this point, yet, I would allow myself that creamer, which certainly there was nothing Paleo friendly about that. Once I got used to drinking it with almond milk, I tried lessening it and lessening it until one day I was drinking it black with 2 stevia. Okay, I conquered that, and boy did I feel so “cool” going to a restaurant and saying, “Coffee, Black please!”. 

 

So the next step was to cut out the added sweetener. Even though Stevia is a healthier option because it comes from a root, your body still recognizes it as sugar and treats it as such. So, I tried it one morning with nothing and had to spit it out. It tasted like hot, bitter,water. But that is because I have trained my tastebuds to require it sweeter. That’s what added sugar does…convinces your body that natural food isn’t sweet enough the way it is. So I cut it down to 1 packet, and that is where I am at right now. i am hoping to eventually drop that last packet of sweetener soon. 

If you have a daily coffee habit, I am not telling you to quit it. I just want to make sure that you have control over it.

 Image

 

2 Responses to “Coffee please…..”

  1. Heya! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the outstanding work!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

