Let’s Celebrate Mother’s Day

My mini-me

My mini-me

What a special weekend this weekend is! I want to say Happy Mother’s Day to all of the mom’s out there. And if you’re a mom, I hope you can relax this weekend and enjoy the love of your own family.  Instead of running around this weekend with crazy Mother’s Day plans, I am hoping to try and relax and celebrate the women who mean the most in my life.

I have a three year old and Mother’s Day now takes on a whole new meaning to me. I feel

Mom, myself, and Grandma

Mom, myself, and Grandma

so blessed and so much love being a mother to my little girl.  I can remember my first Mother’s Day with her when she was about three months old.  She got dedicated at church that weekend and it was such a special weekend. I can remember how proud I felt as Icarried her in front of the church that morning. She makes my heart warm and she is such the light of my life.  Yes, some days can be challenging and I can get frustrated at all of the mundane tasks motherhood entails, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  It is the small things that I appreciate on mother’s day. I am looking forward to “muffins for mom” at my daughter’s school and seeing her face as she hands me a craft project that she has made for me.  It’s these moments that I want to hold close to me forever. I am also fortunate enough to celebrate Mother’s Day with my 85-year-old grandma, mom and step-mom. They all hold such a huge place in my heart and have all sacrificed so much to make me the person I am today.  If they are reading this I want to say, thank you and I love you all so much. When I was growing up, I can remember loving making my mom breakfast in bed. She always pretended like she was so surprised and like it was the best breakfast she had ever tasted.  I have a step-mom, a mom, a grandma, and so many wonderful friends in my life who I have been blessed enough to consider like friend/moms to me.  Women take the heat a lot for beating each other up, but I feel like most women really look out for and take care of each other.  I love appreciating all of the strong women out there who are mothers in their own right. As women, we are oftentimes the glue that keeps the family together.  We dedicate so much of our lives working hard to love, nourish and take care of our family unit. I wouldn’t have it any other way and love all of the sacrifices I make to be there for my family.

A mother isn’t just a woman who has given birth to children. Mother’s can come in many different forms. I looked up the definition of a mother and here is what was listed:

My step-mom and Landry

My step-mom and Landry

A person who is pregnant with or gives birth to a child.

A woman who adopts a child.

 A woman who raises a child.

A female parent of an animal.

A female ancestor.

A woman who holds a position of authority or responsibility similar to that of a mother: a den mother.

Roman Catholic Church-  A mother superior

Whether you are a mom to a golden retriever or a grandma with 10 grandkids, Happy Mother’s Day. I hope you and your loved one’s have a fabulous day. You deserve it!

Much love-

Loren Silas

One Trackback to “Let’s Celebrate Mother’s Day”

Leave a Reply

