Strength Training in a Cardio Body

I’ve been focusing on strengthening my muscles lately–specifically my upper-body. I challenged myself to 100 push-ups daily in April, and sitting here on May 1, I’m proud to say that I can see (and feel) a difference in the strength of my arms. Can you believe I think this has helped me become a faster runner? Crazy enough, I ran a 10k this morning at my fastest time yet. But I spent the month working on strength? What gives?

Strength IS Sexy–and quick too. I averaged around 10 miles a week in April, but accomplished 3,000 push-ups (About 30% modified on knees) and became a faster runner. Who knew?!

What’s the challenge for May? I’m kinda hooked on this strength stuff, so I plan to attack the plank. I say the challenge is going to be: May Plank Meditation Mornings! Who’s with me?

20130501-100522.jpg

20130501-100538.jpg

One Comment to “Strength Training in a Cardio Body”

  1. Strength training and cardio are best weapons a person can have…nice dedication…keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

