Making Healthier Choices for Picky Kids

Hi! I hope everyone is having a wonderful week! I wanted to share with you all my struggle of keeping my five year old full of healthy nutritious meals and snacks rather than the chemical laden food in every aisle at the grocery store.  Eeew, that sounded a little cynical but its the truth.

Here’s my story, when I was pregnant I went all organic and dropped all processed foods for my developing baby.  When she was born, I nursed for almost a full year, still maintaining healthy eating habits for her. Actually because of her my whole lifestyle changed for the better.  As a baby, I made all of her food from organic fruits, vegetables and some free range organic chicken.  Only the finest!

Now somewhere from the ages of 3-5, we got way off track helped along by friends, play school, and even well meaning family members.  She became a picky eater and then was introduced to donuts, cake, canned biscuits, chicken nuggets and of course Happy Meals.  How did this happen? When you don’t realize yourself the ingredients in these products its easy to want to “treat” a child by a sweet taste or meal in a cute box with a toy rather than realizing you are actually feeding them really bad ingredients!

This is a daily struggle at my house and I have had to make some concessions. I have to be super creative with fun bento box lunches and the like to get  her to eat fruits and vegetables.  But we have definitely made some huge improvements.  She is beginning to enjoy more veggies again(hooray for frozen snap peas!) and try different fruits.

 

Now back to those concessions, there are some foods we can’t get around.  I serve them in moderation but here are some brands that while yes are in a box,  I feel come from the best ingredients possible.  Definitely better than where we started.

 

 

Chicken Nuggets

We’ve tried every variety at Whole Foods, this is actually chicken (not parts or pieces and has not been chemically treated).  My daughter loves them and I’m okay serving them to her.  Of course with organic ketchup – Annie’s or Whole Foods.

http://www.bellandevans.com

 

 

Crackers

Organic saltines. She loves them.

http://www.latejuly.com/late_july_organic_snacks/

 

 

Variety of snacks and mac and cheese made with no dyes.

http://www.annies.com

 

Pudding

Its a better alternative than most puddings out there, for an occasional snack.

http://zensoy.com/products/zen-almond-pudding/

 

Biscuits

My daughter loves biscuits (so does her Dad).  This is a great alternative to other refrigerated brands.

http://www.immaculatebaking.com/products/

 

And lastly, cake! My daughter is so fond of cake. I have vowed personally to never make another box cake in my life and when baking from scratch to never use regular flour again.  This has been interesting to say the least.  I still haven’t found a great recipe for Pound Cake but I haven’t given up either.

 

Here is an amazing recipe for banana bread.  Very very moist and my daughter loved it! Thank goodness!

Gluten Free Banana Bread

Buy all organic Ingredients:

  • 3 cups almond meal/flour
  • 3 large ripe bananas
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup 100% pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix until fully blended.
  3. Pour batter into a prepared (buttered) loaf pan.
  4. Bake for 55-60 minutes until loaf is cooked all the way through.
  5. Serve warm.

 

Please feel free to share some other foods or tips with me if you have a picky eater too! Also, I forgot to mention recently I explained to my daughter about foods made from chemicals and scientists and foods made from the earth for us.  It has been an easy concept for her to understand and I can proudly say there are some foods she has never asked for again once we discussed exactly where they came from.

All my best, Kathy Fit Fashionista ❤

 

Leave a Reply

