Sweat….everyone should do it.

I have never understood those women who don’t sweat. If you are one of those women, you are an enigma to  me. When I was a dancer in college I would come off of the court at halftime with my hair dripping wet while some of the other girls still had perfect curls, and I would think, how unfair. Or, I would go out dancing at a night club with friends and have to slow down (which for me is hard, I love dancing) because I would immediately start sweating…and again I would think…how do these women do it.

But then I realized, its a good thing that I sweat. Sweat is a natural cooling system for the body and a key indicator that you are properly hydrated. I always tell the participants in my class that if they are not sweating chances are they haven’t been drinking enough water. I get that our metabolisms all run differently, and so do our bodies, but unless you have some kind of medical condition, there is no reason for you to not have broken into some kind of sweat by the end of your workout.

So, let’s say you are a heavy sweater….EMBRACE IT! Just know how to manage it and deal with it. Here are a few of my tips:

1. by make-up wipes that are made for sensitive skin to wipe your face with post workout

2. use clinical strength anti-perspirant

3. always bring an extra change of clothes and a plastic bag to put your sweaty clothes in

4. have a hair plan…be ready to either quickly blow dry under the hand dryer in the bathroom, put on a hat, or brush it and make it look smooth again.

5. A little spray never hurt anyone…I always keep a Victoria’s secret body spray in my gym bag to make me feel a little fresher

6. In the feminine hygiene section there are great “sports wipes” to freshen things in other areas. 

Image

Leave a Reply

