The New Shape of Sexywear…I mean Shapewear

 

Happy Thursday! I hope everyone had a great week! In my blog, a couple of weeks ago I mentioned spring cleaning and tossing clothing items that don’t work anymore.  That includes what we wear under our clothing.  After going through my undergarment drawer, tossing items I’ve had too long, too small, to big and so on, I realized I needed new everything.  I went to Nordstrom and bought all new Commandos, my favorite seamless panty. They are completely smooth and show absolutely no lines and very comfy too.

Next to look for a bra.  I took about 10 different bras to the dressing room only to re-emerge tired, frustrated and empty handed. I decided to plan another day out for bra shopping but first I went to my Go To Source on just about all things…..Marzia Prince. She can usually always solve my dilemma or at least put me in the right direction.  Well this time was no different, a total score! I asked her what bra she wore and she told me to go to Bed Bath and Beyond, I thought she didn’t understand my question.  So I repeated myself and she repeated herself and I ended up at the mega home goods store with best bra I have ever purchased. Drumroll…..the Genie Bra.  For $19.99 you get two seamless shaping bras that lift your chest and bring the girls closer together. Its kind of like a sports bra and bra merged into one and the band is wide enough that there are no back rolls.  Its the absolutely best fitting and most comfortable bra that I have ever worn.  I would describe this bra as shapewear for your chest. Amazing and so well priced!

 

 

Now, more on the topic of shapewear.

Shapewear is a glorious invention that every woman should know about and take advantage of.  Shapewear provides instant slimming, smoothing and shaping while enhancing your curves.  Va Va Voom!

  • All-in-Ones – Body suits or shaping slips are used from everyday support to special occasions, think backless, plunging neckline and convertible straps.  Look for compression at the tummy, hips and rear.  Most of these types of body shapers are sold by bra size.
  • Top Toning – Shaping camis, tanks and shirts can provide the same support as a bra while slimming the tummy and smoothing unsightly bulges.  Some top toners provide control to the arms.
  • Hip & Thigh Support – Seamless bike short designs provide shaping from high waist to mid-thigh and some slips even have built in bike shorts for extra support and smoothing.
  • Tummy Tamers – Nip your waist without losing your curves. Waist cinchers offer firm control in the midsection and accentuate the waist.  Panty briefs draw in the stomach and waist while smoothing your seat.
  • Lingerie Look – Until recently most shapewear pieces only came in black, nude or white. Now designers such as Bethany Frankel’s Skinnygirl Solutions offer all the shape in support but in a sexy lacy lingerie look.

Honestly shapewear can be expensive, so I discount shop for mine at places like TJ Maxx, Kohls and Amazon.com.  Now invest in a piece of shapewear for that special dress or  your favorite skinny jeans and believe me you will see a noticeable difference!  Also check out the Genie Bra, it really is amazing and Bed Bath & Beyond always has those $5 off coupons on the back of their sales ad!

I hope you enjoyed your lesson in shapewear and all have a wonderful weekend!

Kathy, The Fit Fashionista

 

Sexy Shapewear

 

 

Bethany’s Skinny Girl Solutions

Old School – Ouch!

 

Leave a Reply

