Breaking the post-baby blues

ImageAs I’ve previously stated, I gained a decent amount of weight when I was pregnant with my daughter.  My doctor cleared me to start working out 6 weeks after I gave birth to Landry. As much as I was determined to get back into shape the thought of leaving my newborn, even for an hour, was SO hard for me. However, it was necessary. I’m lucky enough to have AMAZING friends and family who stepped in to make sure that I got out of the house, back into civilization, and back to feeling like myself. Without their encouragement and support, I would not have done it alone.  Accepting the offers of support from your friends and family during this time is so important!

One of my friends, Ashleigh, had been going to a boot camp in-town named Boot camp Dallas. She persuaded me to start this 6 week camp with her.  Then my other friend, Taylor, stepped in and offered to stay with Landry, when my husband couldn’t, so I could start working out. I don’t know what I would have done without my friends and family through this transition period in my life. Long story short, accept your friends offers of support, it was my saving grace.  .

After I made it to my first boot camp and I was hooked.  It was just what I needed to jumpstart my system again. I had found a great boot camp, was going with one of my best friends, and I had an amazing instructor (who is now still one of my best friends). It was a win, win, win!  I even ended up being the biggest loser in my camp. Taking these few hours a week for myself was key in getting back to feeling like myself again.

Once you accept the support from your friends or family, there are many choices on which exercise method to use to get back in shape. However, I’m sold on jumpstarting your system with a great boot camp. Here’s why:Image

Support and accountability– Much like any program or association, when people are all going through the same thing together a common bond is formed. Boot Camp is no different and you will likely form new friends within your group. This helps you stick with your workout program and provides you with instant accountability partners. The boot camp I did has as 95% retention rate, so a lot of the participants are returning campers and can help encourage and provide guidance to a new enrollee. Everyone is working together to help keep each other on target.

Fast Results– The mix of strength training and cardiovascular training is called cross training. It’s been shown to be a great method to build lean tissue, burn fat and provide all round fitness for day to day life. In a boot camp, you are always doing new workouts and drills that help push your body to new limits.

Getting outside- You don’t have to go into a smelly gym with fluorescent lights. Put on your sunscreen, get outside, and get some vitamin D! Studies show that people who are exposed to regular amounts of sunlight do not need vitamin D supplements because sunlight promotes sufficient vitamin D synthesis in the skin. Studies also have shown that vitamin D plays a crucial role in strengthening bones, fighting depression, boosting immunity and potentially even speeds up the body’s ability to lose weight.

Helps you push yourself– At the beginning of most boot camps, they take your measurements and weight. It is really motivating to see your hard work pay off by the end of the camp when you have lost inches.  Most people rarely push themselves as hard as an exercise professional will, especially when you’re in a group setting.

Whatever your workout is, take your friend and family support and get moving! Take baby steps to getting back into the real world and feeling like yourself again.  You can do it and you will feel like yourself again in no time!

If you are wondering what boot camp I did it was Boot camp Dallas. I am a huge fan of this boot camp. Boot camp Dallas consists of running, bleachers, plyometric drills, high intensity training, weights and core work. The owner and instructor is Jovone Kordoban, she started one of the first boot camps in Dallas and has a very high client retention rate because of the great results her members achieve. Her camp is held at Jesuit high school. If you want more information you contact Jovone at bootcampdallas@aol.com.

Have a great weekend and love yourself to a healthy lifestyle-

Loren Silas

One Comment to “Breaking the post-baby blues”

  1. I am really grateful to the owner of this website who has
    shared this great piece of writing at at this place.

Leave a Reply

