You are Never to Old to Follow Your Dreams

Recently I came across a blog on the Huffington Post Healthy Living section written by a woman named Phyllis Sues. Phyllis will be 90 years old in April. In her blog, she talks about her life and all the things she has done to stay vibrant and healthy throughout the years. She started a fashion label at 50, became a musician and learned Italian and French in her 70s, took tango and trapeze at 80 and walked into her first yoga class at 85. After reading her blog I was immediately inspired and hit with the realization that life has just begun! You see I grew up in a household run by a single mom with two daughters to care for. As I look back I’m not sure how she did it. We always had a roof over our heads and plenty to eat but not a lot in the way of extras. As I came became a young adult I always felt like I was behind everyone else, like everyone knew much more than I did and had experienced much more than I had. I felt like I was always trying to catch up or that I was too old and I had missed the boat on so many things!

Boy, was I  wrong!!! My thoughts couldn’t have been farther from the truth! I recognize now that my passion to learn and try new things has kept me feeling and thinking young.

I had my daughter at 35 and that led me to try Pilates.  Through Pilates I discovered health, fitness and nutrition.  On my journey to becoming a Pilates instructor, I was led to the Healthy Housewives and through this medium I get to share health and nutrition tips with a large audience through my blogs and Face Book page.  This all happened at 40!

 

I feel fresh and renewed everyday and am in the best shape of my life, mentally, physically and spiritualy.  And according to Phyllis, it only keeps getting better all the way to 90! I’m so excited about all thats out there to discover and dreams to realize.

When I started my Pilates certification, I told many friends and family members that I wanted to open my own studio.  Yesterday I signed my lease! I’m thrilled to go through this experience and see what new doors open on this journey!

So, if you think you’re old, think again!

 

KathyMadKat

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/phyllis-sues-/aging-gracefully-phyllis-sues-yoga-tango_b_2878155.html?utm_hp_ref=aging#slide=1261469

 

One Comment to “You are Never to Old to Follow Your Dreams”

  1. Yeah for you! Keep inspiring people! Xo

Leave a Reply

