Spring is Here! Shopping, Cleaning and Easter Eggs…Oh My!!!!

Hi! I hope everyone is having a wonderful week! Well yesterday was the first day of spring but here in Dallas it feels like another dreary day of winter! I don’t know about you all but I’m ready for spring!! Warm weather, flowers in bloom and sunny days can’t get here fast enough for me! At my house I’ve been cleaning out closets and putting away winter clothes now if only the weather would cooperate. If you’ve been to the mall or department store lately, you see bright colors and floral prints every where! I’ve bought a few pieces here and there and I’m ready to wear them! I want to share a couple of top trends for spring with you now!

Spring Wardrobe

Fun fresh ways to brighten up your wardrobe!

• Bright colors – put back the black for spring and opt for an outfit in a bright color. From orange, yellow to cobalt blue, color is in. You can simply accessorize with a bright pop of color and or if you are more adventurous choose one hue from top to bottom!
• Pointy shoes- pointy shoes in heels and flats are everywhere for spring. This is an easy affordable way to update your spring look. You can choose from nude or go with a bright color.
• Floral, floral everywhere – can I say I’m totally a child of the 80’s? I loved it then and love it now! Jackets, jeans, tops, and even shoes in floral scream spring!
• Sheer cutouts – I did say put away the black but if its has sheer panels it sexy and fresh. Sheer panels show just a hint of skin without showing too much and can be very flattering.
• Jewelry – Chain link bracelets are in. Gold, silver, skinny or chunky. Mix and match.

"New Looks for Spring" by kathy-hamilton on Polyvore

Spring Cleaning

Now don’t forget when you buy a new wardrobe piece its good to take a piece out or eventually your closet will be so full you won’t know what you have . I don’t always follow my own rule like I should so I recently cleaned out my closet. I folded everything nicely , put it in a laundry basket and took it to my local Plato’s Closet. I made close to $200.00 and what they didn’t buy I donated. I did the same thing in my daughter’s closet. I took her old shoes and clothes to Once Upon a Child and got close to $150.00. WOW! I encourage you all to do the same!

Now with the cleaning and shopping done, nothing signifies spring like Easter! My daughter and I have already dyed several batches of eggs and Easter is still a week away! The first time we used the pellets that come in all the store bought Easter egg kits and the second time we used the left over pulp from my juicer. I had orange colored pulp from the carrots, beet red from the beets and green from my cucumber. I googled some recipes and kind of hodge podged several recipes and this is what we came up with:

Colored Eggs

Natural Dyes
Pink – shredded beets
Orange – shredded carrots
blue- crushed blueberries
yellow – tablespoon of ground turmeric
deep purple – concord grape juice
crayons – color and decorate eggs before dyeing (image will still show)

Add 2 tablespoons of vinegar and 3 cups of water to each ingredient, bring to a boil on the stove. Use a mesh scoop to strain the pulp.

Pour colors in glass dishes and be sure to cover your workspace with newspaper. Now let your little one go to work!

Happy Spring! Kathy, Fit Fashionista

Leave a Reply

