Get off your A#$…literally!

ImageRight now you are thinking….”woah, did she really just post a picture of her butt?!” And my answer to you is, “why yes, yes I did!”. Let me explain the reason…I promise their is a good one. I want you to think about how many times a day you are literally sitting on that thing! Do you have a job that requires you to sit at a desk and a chair? Do you drive a lot throughout the day? Do you come home and get on the computer, or sit on the couch and watch a little tv? If you answered yes to one or more of these questions then its quite possible you need to get off your A#$…literally!

So, what are some ways you can avoid sitting and give your tooshie a break? Here are a few tips:

1. get rid of your office chair: when I was a teacher I brought in a stability ball and sat on that instead of my chair…hey, it wasn’t standing or walking, but it certainly was better than sitting…grading papers can be a daunting task, and any bit of help I could get the better. If you are thinking that your boss won’t go for that, I say, ask for forgiveness, not permission. Try it and see what happens. 

2. Watch less tv. You heard me right…and this is coming from a woman who reveres her favorite shows in high regards. I actually bought a gym grade spin bike off of a gym that was closing down and I have it in my bedroom. I DVR all my favorite shows, and I get on their and spin while I watch. I don’t spin like I would in a group fitness class, more of at a leisurely pace, but it certainly kills two birds with one stone.

3. Sit less….its that easy. One of my favorite places to do some work on the computer is on the counter in between my kitchen and my living room. I set my laptop up there and stand while I do my work…plus it puts me in a very social place in the house for easy multi-tasking. 

So am I telling you never to sit. Heck to the no! I sit…and so should you. I am just telling you to sit less. Get off your a$% and watch the changes that begin to take place just from this simple adjustment in a society where being sedentary is the norm. 

–Danielle

 

Leave a Reply

