Start your day off right!

 

IMG_4307

People tend to give me a hard time because they assume that the only way I stay so fit is by taking valuable time away from my family, work, or both.  Well, anyone that knows me knows that is a false statement.  90% of the time I wake up and work out before most people ever get out of bed.   Oh, I can hear you now. You are saying, “But I’m not a morning person.”  Truth is, I am NOT a morning person either. I have had to train myself to be.  Even in kindergarten my mom put me in the PM class because I was such a late sleeper.  However, since having Landry, one of the main reasons I started working out really early is because I already work full time and don’t want another daily commitment that takes away from my precious time with her. Besides that main reason, I have learned that there are so many other benefits to working out in the morning.

Here are some top reasons to get moving in the morning:

Weight loss

 Countless studies have now proven that weight loss increases most during the early morning hours. Exercising first thing in the morning can burn up to 3x more fat because your bodies main energy source, carbohydrates, are depleted throughout the night. A before breakfast workout forces your body to use its stored fat cells as energy instead of carbohydrates. Morning workouts can also help you to burn extra fat throughout the day. You are also boosting your metabolism and forcing your body to use energy to re-generate during the day. Exercise can improve your resting metabolic rate, which can make your body more efficient at burning calories.

Better Performance

 As an athlete my reason was easy, I knew that I would positively affect my performance and attitude. Getting up early requires discipline and athletes with discipline are typical successful. Scientifically it makes sense that our body is more efficient after a good rest, so by the morning your body is firing on all cylinders and you can get a better workout in.

images-1

Ensure you fit it in

How many times have your good workout intentions gone to waste because your day became too hectic, leaving you with no time or energy to take care of your body? I hear from so many people who say they PLAN to workout but, over the course of each day, things keep adding on to their to-do list and exercise falls off as a priority. By getting up early and starting your day with a workout, you are lessening your chances from derailing from your plans.

Relax and Energize

Those who consistently workout in the morning, have been found to have a better sleep pattern. Exercise helps you relax better by releasing endorphins, which are like your body’s own personal happy pills. Your body craves oxygen, and exercise helps to increase the amount of oxygen to your brain and body. It’s better than that coffee you reach for when you wake up. For 4-10 hours after you exercise your mental sharpness and energy is increased.

However, we are all different and as long as you are fitting your workout in somewhere, do what you need to do.  Just make an effort to be consistent and don’t let excuses stop you from being the best you can be.

Love Yourself to a Healthy Lifestyle-

Loren Silas

3 Comments to “Start your day off right!”

  1. helpful advice…..there will always be cry babies
    nice work..

  2. Great advice Lo. I’ve never been able to workout in the evenings. Things always come up. I loved hearing about the benefits of an early morning workout.

Leave a Reply

