4 Easy Steps to get Back on Your Health & Fitness Track and a Delicious Zucchini Noodle Recipe

HiI I hope everyone is having a wonderful week.  Last week, I shared my amazing trip to California and the organic farm in Cabo San Lucas but what I didn’t share is that while traveling, I got out of my routine! And getting out of my routine means not eating the way I need to and not exercising like I do at home.  With the best of intentions I packed my Bullet blender, Sun Warrior protein powder and resistance bands and drum roll….never used them!  Not even once!  Each day I tried my best to eat a healthy nutritious meal coupled with a little vacation cheat here and there and before I knew it I was completely off track. Almost overnight, cheat meals became my every meal and I gave myself a great excuse for not working out….vacation!

When I got home and looked in the mirror I did not like what I saw.  I was very discouraged and mad at myself too because I have worked so hard over the past year and I am still working to achieve my fitness goals.  This two week vacation left me craving junk food and having little energy to work out.  I am sharing my experience with each of you because maybe you started the year off with the bang and really focused on eating healthy and exercising but now just two months later and old unhealthy habits have creeped back in to your life for whatever reason.  Don’t despair and don’t beat yourself up! Its actually easier thank you think to get back on track.

Image

I gave myself two days to cut all the junk food.  Then on the third day I did a very light work out and it felt great to move my body again! The fourth day I woke up a little sore but in a good way and ready for more! I have been back on track for about two weeks now and when I looked in the mirror this morning I liked what I saw.  So if you find yourself off track, remember this:

Image

4 steps to Get Back on Track

1. Number one because its the most important, don’t  beat yourself up for getting off track! Processed foods that line the grocery store aisles, TV ads, fast foods and restaurants actually work really hard to not make it easy for us to stay on track.

2. Ease back into your health and fitness plan like I did or make a plan that works best for you to keep and follow through.

3. Review your fitness goals.  This may be a good time to completely change up your routine or rededicate yourself to the old one.

4. Try something new! This can be an exercise or a change in your diet.  I have actually started eating more raw foods.  Not sure where this is heading but I’m enjoying the discovery!

Lastly, I have so enjoyed eating raw, I wanted to share one of my favorite new recipes!  You may need to get to a specialty cookware shop to buy a julienne peeler.  I bought one last week and so far I’ve made Pad Thai twice and spaghetti is next.

Raw Pad Thai Noodles & Spicy Thai Sauce Recipe

Noodles:

2 zucchinis, julienned
4 large carrots, julienned
½ cup chopped fresh cilantro
½ cup chopped fresh basil
1 red or yellow pepper, sliced into strips

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and toss.

Spicy Thai Sauce:
fresh ginger
2 Tbs lemon juice
2 Tbs gluten-free Tamari
½ cup orange juice
¼ tsp cayenne
¼ cup tahini or almond butter
1 Tbs chili powder

Blend ingredients in a blender.  Pour over noodles just before serving.

Garnish

Chopped nuts (almond or cashew)

2 handfuls of bean sprouts

 

Love & Light to All! Kathy, Fit Fashionista

2 Comments to “4 Easy Steps to get Back on Your Health & Fitness Track and a Delicious Zucchini Noodle Recipe”

  1. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will share this website
    with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  2. This paragraph will assist the internet visitors for creating new webpage or even a weblog from start to end.

Leave a Reply

