Throw away your scale

Throw away your scale! You heard me, I am not even joking with you. Our obsession, especially females with seeing a specific number on the scale is alarming. The fact of the matter is I always weight the MOST when I am at my tiniest. I repeat…I weight the MOST when I am in the best shape. So what if that magic number appears on the scale if your clothes  fit tight and you are winded when you walk up a flight of stairs. 

 

So let’s start talking about non-scale victories and how you are going to gauge and measure your goals without stepping on the  scale. I know, you are thinking, but its what I do every morning naked after I go to the bathroom (I know all the tricks you try)…but trust me…this will be a liberating experience for you. 

 

1. Measurements….take your measurements. Get a good old fashioned measuring tape out and write out your measurements. Go back monthly and see the difference or the lack their of. 

2. Before and after photos….a photo is worth a thousand words right?! And often we can’t gauge change in ourself because we look in the mirror everyday. But when you see two pictures side by side you can see even the smallest and tiniest changes in your body. 

3. How do your clothes feel….seriously this is one of my favorites. I can immediately feel when I am a little out of whack by the way my jeans fit around my waist and butt. Clothes fitting looser…celebrate!

 

I don’t want you to be a prisoner to the scale. I am 140 lbs, and proud of it. Imagine if I felt like I needed to see that magic number on the scale…I would either be too skinny or lacking a whole lot of muscle. Why? Because for my height and my athletic build, 125 isn’t the right number. 

 

Does this make sense? Are you willing to do this?Can you do this? Hide the scale for 30 days if you can’t throw it away…liberate yourself and work on your results and celebrate those non scale victories!Image

3 Comments to “Throw away your scale”

  1. Very inspiring article! I shared it with my girlfriends!

  2. I needed that

  3. I agree! The scale is just a number. Focusing on BF%, tape measurements, and how my clothes fit has always and will always be the best determination of my progress. I also encourage my clients to take lots of pictures. Even if they feel uncomfortable with photos. Most people who “skip” the before photo end up wishing they had taken one 6-12 weeks down the road.

Leave a Reply

