My shoe addiction….

Most women have a shoe addiction….however, my shoe addiction isn’t in the form of that signature red sole….it comes in the form of that classic swoosh. You guessed it, HI MY NAME IS DANIELLE, AND I AM ADDICTED TO SNEAKERS. 

But let me be completely honest with you…your sneakers do have a shelf life. Think of it in terms of your car tires…would you ride around on the same tires year in and year out, never rotating them and expect to stay safe and accident free? Of course not! The tread wears out (or whatever happens to tires when they get worn out) and you have to replace them. Well, the same goes for your shoes. Yes, tell your husband, alert the media, I am giving you permission to buy shoes. Your shoe is good for typically about 3 months depending on how often you wear them. Or think about 500 to 700 miles of wear. So, out with the old in with the new. Its a safety issue. 

Another reason I have so many sneakers is for functional purposes. Running shoes are designed for forward motion only and have extra padding to safeguard your feet from the impact of the pavement. Training shoes, however, were designed for lateral movement, stop and go and have little to no cushioning to give your foot more grip to the ground which provides balance and stability through plyometric and core stabilization movements. Wear shoes for their intended purpose…i promise your knees and ankles will thank you. 

So what do you do with all these extra shoes? I take the ones that are no longer functional for training due to their shelf life and move them into the garage. These now become my outdoor sneakers. They are intended for hiking and other such outdoor activities that might involve dirt! I then organize my closet based on the function of the shoe so if I know I am doing INSANITY then I am going to grab a training shoe, where as if I am teaching hip hop, I will grab my high top old school sneakers that are fun for dancing. 

Bottom line….if you can only have one pair of sneakers, then ensure that they fit correctly. Don’t be afraid to walk around the store in them, ask questions, and test them out. I of course am a huge NIKE supporter, but all brands have their pros and cons. Find your fit, and kick it!

Image

Imagei

One Trackback to “My shoe addiction….”

Leave a Reply

