I LOST 75 LBS. IN 8 MONTHS!

11 months into my journey

11 months into my journey I changed my life

Hello there! I have been a Healthy Housewives follower for sometime now and want to share my story so that you know that you are not alone.

I have been through so much in 2012. There was a time in my life that I was unhappy, unhealthy and depressed. At the time I was working around the clock and raising two kids by myself. My life was a roller-coaster. I ate junk food everyday and ordered McDonald’s breakfast every morning on my way to work. After a long days work, I would come home and drink wine every night to relax and wind down! I was so depressed. I would conceal it with a smile, but deep down inside I was so ashamed of myself. How could I let myself go? I couldn’t even look at myself in the mirror anymore. I would take pictures of myself and crop out my body.. Humiliating, I was so embarrassed! I wouldn’t go anywhere for the fear of some on recognizing me and the weight I had put on. I had to do something, I had to change my life or I would die, I was already dying inside!

What got me started on my journey was seeing the results of a co-worker. She was on this crazy (Ideal Protein) diet. She lost a remarkable amount of weight in one month, I think it was like 20lbs or close to that number. I was blown away, needless to say I had to start the diet too! The diet restricted alot of GOOD food and number of calories. I think the limit was 500 calories a day. That is CRAZY! I was starving my body, no wonder I was losing the weight fast and (Unhealthy) might I add that too! The minute I would eat something that wasn’t on the diet menu, I would regain all the weight! It was terrible! All that hardwork and dedication all went down the drain! LOL! Then I started doing my research on what way is the best and healthiest way to lose weight. Eating clean (Food without and preservatives and additives) and  exercising!

I started walking 3 miles a day on my lunch break at work. It would take me a whole hour just to walk 3 miles. I was so out of shape, I remember thinking to myself, “I am only walking and I am so winded.” It was a terrible feeling. I didn’t let that stop me though, I wanted to beat my time every day. So everyday  I would walk a little bit faster and a little bit faster. During a session of my speed walking, Mother Nature decided to bestow her mighty winds and nasty storm weather upon me. I didn’t let that stop me either, I decided to join Anytime Fitness and I fell in love with the staff and facility! They made me feel so welcomed and the members that attended the gym were regulars. I turned myself into a regular. I would always workout on my lunch break and after work some days I would go back to the gym for another session of cardio, strength, or a class.

I was falling in-love with myself all over again. The praises, compliments and accomplishments was keeping me motivated. I was able to put on clothes that I couldn’t fit in before! WOWSERS, what an amazing feeling! I would wake up early in the morning an try on jeans that had been stashed in my closet for years. Tried the jeans on and it would fit, I would dance around the room like a MAD woman! “Giggles!” Did I fall off the wagon and cheat and eat unclean sometime? Yes, it happens. We are only human. “Dust yourself off and get back up again,” is what my Grandmother always told me.

If I can do it, so can you! You can follow me and check my progress at https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Healthy-Housewives/221907394505946?sk=messages_inbox&action=read&tid=id.488832194511873#!/fitsquadNOLA

Thank you for reading my blog!

Martini

 

5 Comments to “I LOST 75 LBS. IN 8 MONTHS!”

  1. Thanks for sharing your story, it’s very inspirational.

  2. Wowzers, you look amazing:))) Good for you because through my own experience with weight issues, this must have been no easy task to pull off, but you did:)

  3. MARTINI THIS IS INCREDIBLE!!!! You are an inspiration to many! Way to go girly!!!! YOU LOOK FAB!!! xoxo Sar

  4. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve
    read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or advice.

    Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.

    I desire to read more things about it!

Leave a Reply

