Bad words….

Bianca asked me the other day, “Mommy, when will I be old enough to say bad words?”…of course my reaction was, “NEVER!”…LOL….and then my sweet little Bianca said, “well sissy says S-up, and upid”…which is code word for shut up and stupid…both “bad words” in our house. 

But it got me to thinking…at what age do we really start to be come less conscious of our word choices. I am not an avid cusser (sorry if that is not a real word), and I certainly try not to drop a bomb in front of my children or mixed company, however, I am not going to lie and say that I do not curse. I do. And when I do, I typically don’t feel any judgment or value associated with it. When did that happen though?

So, my question is, how do you handle cursing in your household and what do you consider a bad word? Here are a few of my thoughts. 

1. in our house we have words that are bad…beyond the obvious, such as stupid and shut up. 

2. there are words that are completely unacceptable in our house like retarded, dumb, idiot, moron…anything that basically is hurtful to another person and their intelligence

3. while its not always right, we kind of follow the do as I say not as I do principle on this one…meaning there will be times where we get angry or upset and slip..and its important for our children to understand that does not give them an automatic hall pass to use inappropriate words. 

4. have an open and honest relationship with your children so they can come to you openly when they have questions about words they have heard at school, on the radio, on tv etc. Because we live in a world where its normal to hear inappropriate language and I feel if your kids hear it , but can talk to you about it, then they most likely won’t use it. 

 

The more we can arm our vocabulary with positive words, the less bad words we have to use, and in turn our children will use. No need for washing the mouth out with the proverbial soap!

Image

One Comment to “Bad words….”

  1. Great suggestions. I try to follow them and I don’t have kids. I do, however, lead children at church and in the community, so it’s important to know what to say in these types of situations. Thank you for your experienced words of wisdom.

Leave a Reply

