Time away….how to handle anxiety over a childless vacation….

I don’t know about you, but my husband and i have not traveled much without our children. Last year was the first time for both of us to be away from them at the same time. Yes, I travel for work, but I don’t blink an eye, because they are safely at home with my husband, their daddy. And last year, when we went to the Bahamas for 3 days, I was anxious at the though of leaving them. I of course managed to get over it as I sat beside the crystal blue water and clean white sand and was able to enjoy some much needed alone time with my spouse. But this year, actually in just a few days, I will be traveling to Argentina and Uraguay for 8 days. 8 days!!!! And 8 days with limited phone access due to the cost of international calls. And, to top it all off, my daughter’s 7th birthday is while we are away. Talk about major mom guilt! So what is a mom to do. I firmly believe that as a parent you should not lose your identity simply because you have children. Yes I love my children, and they are a top priority, but especially when you are married, you have to have some quality alone time to continue to build and nurture that relationship. 

So, how does a mom deal with anxiety over leaving their children for a much needed vacation? Here are a few tips that should help.

  1. leave your children with someone you trust without question. I know that seems like a given, but the last thing you need to worry about is the well being of your kids. 
  2. write out notes for every day that you are gone for their lunch boxes. Just a little reminder that mommy loves them. 
  3. use face time or skype to your advantage..instead of just calling the kids to check in, get in a video chat for a few minutes so you can hear about their day
  4. don’t spend your whole vacation talking about the kids…use the time away to renergize your marriage
  5. Choose a special and meaningful souvenir to bring home as a surprise. 
  6. remember that this only one week out of their entire lives. You get to be their mommy forever. 

 

I know its tough…when we become a mom we always want to put ourselves last and our families first. But you can’t…you are important, and if you are in a relationship, your relationship is important. You are modeling for your children, hopefully, what a healthy, loving  relationship looks like, which in turn will set them up for healthy relationships when they get older. 

 

Image

Leave a Reply

