January is Thyroid Awareness Month

butterfly

Hi! Hope everyone is having a great week! January is Thyroid Awareness Month and having recently been diagnosed with hypothyroidism (slow thyroid), I thought this would be a great topic to cover this week. So I’ll share my story and I hope you can find some useful information.

I went to my doctor for my annual check up which comprised of my physical check up, a little personal chat and having my blood drawn. During our chat I told the doctor I was a more tired than usual, even sluggish at times and a little scatter brained (hey I’m 41 with a very busy 5 year old so I thought it might be my new normal). She asked me if I had any physical changes and I mentioned my hair seemed thinner (again I thought the effects of my new age) and then we got to the lady questions…was my cycle regular or had there been changes. Excuse my TMI but I told her it was different every month which was very irregular for me. She then asked about my personal life and I mentioned I had gone through some personal changes and was feeling bluer than I liked (definitely not my normal no matter what personal issues I have going on).

I ended my visit having my blood drawn and she said she would be in touch with my results. Results for what I thought? I never know exactly what lab tests the doctor orders because in the past I have always received a call that everything looks great so I never ask.

Well I was totally surprised when my doctor called me to tell me that my thyroid was functioning low and she was going to put me on medication to help regulate it. For clarification the thyroid is a butterfly-shaped gland in your neck right below your Adam’s apple and wrapped around your wind pipe. The thyroid controls your metabolism and produces thyroid hormones T3 and T4. I immediately Googled low thyroid and found that all the symptoms I had associated with my new age were actually symptoms of hypothyroidism. I learned that my doctor ordered a TSH test which measures the amount of T3 and T4 in the blood, which everyone over the age of 35 should test for annually or if you experience any symptoms. So far I have been on my medication about four months now and I feel like a new person. The brain fog has cleared, my energy level is back up and I feel great! Thank you for reading my story and keep in my mind I’m not dispensing medical advice just hoping to bring awareness to that little unseen bowtie around your neck!

Kathy, The Fit Fashionista

thyroid-img

Resources for you:

According to the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologist (AACE), “Thyroid disease is more common than diabetes or heart disease. Thyroid disease is a fact of life for as many as 30 million Americans – and more than half of those people remain undiagnosed. Women are 5 times more likely than men to suffer from hypothyroidism.”

AACE Website

http://www.empoweryourhealth.org/THYROID

Mary Shomon

http://thyroid.about.com/

Brook Burke Chavret, Modern Mom Blog on Thyroid Cancer

http://www.modernmom.com/blogs/brooke-burke/we-re-all-in-this-together

http://www.foxnews.com/health/2012/12/17/brooke-burke-charvet-8-things-should-know-about-thyroid-cancer/

Thyroid Sexy ~ Gena Lee Nolin’s journey to health and happiness! 
 

cartoon

75646468712680850_FTmzLOFO_c

547023_526747670691727_900062915_n

3 Responses to “January is Thyroid Awareness Month”

  1. Thank you for blogging about this. Its a huge issue and one I have checked annually. I always get “hypo” and “hyper” mixed up, so I really appreciate the distinction. I’m glad you have a good doctor who takes time to sit, listen, and figure out what’s wrong. I’m so happy for you! Thank you for sharing your story.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

