A MOTHER’S TOP 10 HEALTH TRICKS

The love of my life-my son Kyson

The love of my life-my son Kyson

Hi Everyone!

I was flattered when Marzia asked me to write a guest post for The Healthy Housewives.  Of course the first thing I thought was ‘what should I write about??’.  Like Marzia said, I always have something to say.  However that makes it so difficult to narrow it down and choose one topic!  I asked some friends what I should write about and it was an overwhelming ‘fit after baby’ response, however Loren has just done a phenomenal job with that topic.  So instead I have decided to do my post on my favorite things.  My list of top 10 priorities in order to keep myself and my son in tip top condition from the inside out!!  I hope some of you will find these things easily incorporated into your lives.  I promise the benefits will be many!!!

So here we go with number one!  My top top health tip is ‘eat real food’.  That may sound silly to some, but it is literally the difference between surviving and thriving in this life.  When I say eat real food I mean cut out all the processed stuff.  I don’t mean just the box crap (definitely get rid of that!) but I mean the stuff that is raised and processed on factory farms or mass harvested on ginormous ‘farms’…blech.  Buy as much local, pastured, humanely raised, or organically farmed (wild-caught when it comes to fish) food as possible.  Not only are you supporting your local farmers and economy, you are feeding your body the food that it knows what to do with!  No extras you may not have bargained for!!

Number two in my bag of tricks is definitely coconut oil.  Yep.  Coconut Oil.  Seriously it is good for everything!!  In my house we use it for too many things to even list!!  A few uses would be for cooking or baking with, it is a stable oil for med/high temps…other oils such as olive can turn rancid at high temps.  I have used coconut oil on my son’s diaper rashes, I use it mixed with coffee grinds as a face and body scrub, I use it as a toothpaste (oil pulling), I use it as moisturizer, it is good to give to your four legged children.  It is anabolic and aids in fat burning.  If there is a magic food/supplement out there, this is it!!

Third on my list of must haves is Apple Cider Vinegar or ACV.  Another super food with many uses!!  I drink water with lemon and ACV every morning!  It is a natural appetite suppressant, lowers blood sugar levels, regulates pH levels, and helps detoxify the body.  I also use it regularly to condition my hair (the smell is strong while my hair is wet, but once dry the smell is gone!).  I have used it as astringent and in homemade cleaning recipes.  It is a must have in my pantry!!

Number four should probably be number 1!  It is so so important to drink clean water!!  This may seem like a simple task, but actually it has taken a lot of research and effort to make sure I get clean water for my family!  The best possible way to get clean water is to install a reverse osmosis filter in your home.  I also recommend a filter on your shower heads!  Next best choice would be an activated carbon filter, however this type of filter will not get rid of fluoride, which I avoid like the plague.  Then last I would say is bottled water.  I only choose pH balanced bottled water from my local health stores, it does get expensive though, so I just do it as needed.  This is one of my major major peeves….the fact that we have all the technology to have pristine water supplies flow from our faucets, yet the amount of contaminants and chemicals actually added to my water make it undrinkable in my opinion!

Fifth on my list is pre and probiotics!  If you I could recommend a must have supplement this would be it!!  We as humans have a delicate ecosystem going on inside of our bodies.  And in today’s environment filled with pollutants, stress, genetically modified foods, prescription drugs, etc etc, the ecosystem in our bodies really doesn’t have a chance without our calculated support!  80% of the human immune system is directly related to our guts.  Recent studies have also confirmed the gut/brain connection, which a huge leap for the health of future generations.  There are specific diets like WAPF, and GAPS protocol to help reestablish healthy guts in people with health issues.  We had to use these diets with my son in order to cure his food allergies (which seem to be all gone at this point!).  If you seem to be a pretty healthy person in general then you should just be able to supplement with probiotics.  You can do this with foods like yogurt, fermented foods (pickles, sauerkraut, kombucha), and then with the the actual powders or drinks, the higher the count and the more strains the better!

Obviously exercise is an important part of health, so I will make that my number sixExercise can come in so many forms.  I happen to love the gym.  It is my escape from reality.  For a couple hours nothing bothers me and I just lift and or do cardio.  For some people that is their worst nightmare.  But there are so many things that can be ‘exercise’.  Whatever you may enjoy, whether it be horseback riding, cleaning, running outside, or playing football with your kids.  I do recommend some sort of resistance training whether it be weights or leg pressing your toddler.  Not only does being active keep you healthy and your body looking good, it makes you feel good, and when you feel good you make better choices in almost every aspect of your life!  So get moving!!!

Seventh on my list will be protein.  I have been drinking protein supplements for at least a decade and the truth is for the first seven of those years what I was using was probably hurting me not helping.  I do recommend a protein supplement for ease.  I drink 2 smoothies each day and I always use a scoop of protein powder in it.  It is a quick easy meal and truthfully it satisfies my sweet tooth!  There are only a handful of protein powders that I will use now.  If I use a whey protein, I always buy Bluebonnet.  They use milk from New Zealand cows which are never treated with hormones and are pastured as cows should be.  But the number one reason I choose them is because they cold process the whey.  No chemicals or high heat for processing which means the protein is not denatured and rancid (as are most proteins on the market).  I also love the Garden of Life RAW protein line!  So we use both of those in my house!  My son loves them too!!

Okay, number eight on my list may catch you by surprise.  Cut out the gluten.  I recommend cutting it all out.  At least for 4 weeks, after the four weeks is over go ahead and reintroduce it minimally, like as a once a week cheat.  You will feel so much better in so many ways!  You will lose weight, inflammation will subside, your digestion will get better.  And probably for a lot of you when you eat it again you will feel awful!  I cut the gluten when I had to for my son (he had a mild allergy to it).  Now, every time I eat it (which is rarely) I break out!!  So you may be surprised what benefits cutting it out will have for you!!  And if you are really serious try going completely grain free!!!  We are completely grain free about 80% of the time in my house!

Alright, finishing up!!  Number nine on my list of favorite tips has to be my daily vitamins.  I don’t take a ton, but I do think what I take is important and people always ask me about it.  So I thought I should include them in this list!  My primary goal is to get what I need from food and sunshine, but I do believe that can be difficult sometimes.  My daily regimen includes a multi-vitamin, B complex, Adrenal support, vitamin D, probiotics, fermented cod liver oil, and super greens (which I put in my smoothies).  I choose brands that use raw organic whole food nutrients so all the co-factors are included in order to be the most bio-available.  You can read about the fermented cod liver oil and where to find it at this link http://www.westonaprice.org/cod-liver-oil/cod-liver-oil-basics#brands

Last but not least, number ten on my list of top tips is use the internet!  I get my best recipes from my favorite bloggers and I find so much motivation on pinterest.  I find the most interesting and thought provoking articles from the people I follow on facebook.  Knowledge is power and that includes when it comes to your body and your health!!  Obviously this comes with a disclaimer, DO YOUR RESEARCH!  Make sure the sources you find are reliable and trustworthy, and use common sense!

That rounded out my list of top ten tips when it comes to keeping you and your family operating in tip top shape!!  I hope you can utilize one or two (or all) of these things into your routine!!  Your insides will thank you!!  I have included links that expand on some of the information I have touched on in this post!  I hope you get a chance to check them out!!  I want to thank Marzia and The Healthy Housewives for inviting me to do this!!

If you are looking for more info, you can start here!

Protein:  http://www.bluebonnetnutrition.com/product/41/100%25_Natural_Whey_Protein_Isolate_Powder
Water:  http://www.mommypotamus.com/category/water-filtration/
Cod Liver Oil:  http://www.westonaprice.org/cod-liver-oil/cod-liver-oil-basics#brands
Probiotics:  http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2011/09/24/one-of-the-most-important-steps-you-can-take-to-improve-your-health.aspx
Garden of Life supplements:  http://www.gardenoflife.com/Products-for-Life/Foundational-Nutrition/RAW-Protein.aspx
Coconut oil:  http://coconutoil.com/
Apple Cider Vinegar:  http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-3598/7-Reasons-to-Love-Apple-Cider-Vinegar.html
Real Food:  http://www.westonaprice.org/  http://gapsdiet.com/

A few of my favorite bloggers:  (I have LOTS of favorite bloggers)

http://www.mommypotamus.com/
http://urbanposer.blogspot.com/p/all-recipes.html
http://www.deliciousbydre.com/

Follow me on Pinterest and facebook!!
http://pinterest.com/jenniferbuckles/
https://www.facebook.com/pages/NPC-Competitor-Jennifer-Lilbuck-Buckles/177869615589437?ref=hl

I made the Dec cover of the Healthy Housewives!

I made the Dec cover of the Healthy Housewives!

Thank you,

Jennifer

17 Comments to “A MOTHER’S TOP 10 HEALTH TRICKS”

  1. Great web site. Lots of helpful info here. I’m sending it to a few pals ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks for your sweat!

  2. I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both educative
    and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy I came
    across this in my hunt for something relating to this.

  3. What are your qualifications for making any of these claims? (And no, looking good in a swimsuit is not a qualification)
    Some of these are helpful, some benign but other suggestions are downright harmful. I’d like to hear why you think you’re a person who is qualified to give expert dietary advice and any evidence for your claims (and no, blog posts don’t count).

    • Hi, this is Marzia Prince, the owner of the Healthy Housewives. This blog was her opinion on what helped her on her health journey. What qualifies her is her experience. She is not claiming she is an expert of any kind. This is her opinion that she is sharing with other women.

      Question-Why are you so hateful? Who are you to judge someones health journey?! Even if you are an expert of some kind, it is our freedom of speech that allows us to write our blog and share our health tips with each other women. Not to be hateful like yourself. (Bad attitude!) Keep reading our blogs, I think you could learn a thing or two from us to be kind to others.

      I wish you well,
      Marzia Prince

  4. “this is very interesting. thanks for that. we need more sites like this. i commend you on your great content and excellent topic choices.”

  5. Aw, this was a very good post. Spending some
    time and actual effort to make a top notch article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

  6. Usually I do not learn article on blogs, however I would like to say that this
    write-up very pressured me to check out and do it!
    Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very great article.

  7. Overall a user friendly website, several good points!
    It is a good written article, I will try to read others.

    With Respect. Cheers!

  8. I am curious to find out what blog platform you have
    been using? I’m having some small security issues with my latest site and I would like to find something more safeguarded. Do you have any suggestions?

  9. Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my
    blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Regards!

  10. There is obviously a lot to know about this.
    I think you made some good points in Features as well.
    It’s much appreciated!

  11. Hi, I need to spend some time researching much more about topics like
    this. Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this info for
    one of my school assigments. I will com back to read more.
    Thanks. Thanks a lot!

  12. Hello there,It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest to you a few interesting things or maybe tips. Perhaps you could write the next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about the subject! And best of luck to you. Regards!

  13. As a Newbie, I am often searching online for articles which can help myself.

    Many thanks, to you!

  14. Informative article. Where did you got all the great information from?
    Thanks a lot!

  15. Hey there, You have done an incredible job here.
    I will definitely be back. And will personally suggest it to my friends.

    I’m confident they’ll benefit from this web site. Many thanks!

  16. Hello there, only become aware of a person’s blog page through Yahoo, and discovered that it’s really informative. I’m going to be cautious about the town. I will get pleasure from when you move forward this kind of later on. Functioning as well are going to be helped away from your creating. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

