Pilates Does A Body Good!

image

Hi Everyone! I hope the New Year has been good to you so far! Rather than talk about fashion this week I want to share my experience and love of Pilates.  Over the years I have been in and out of the gym.  I always enjoyed lifting weights and I also enjoyed cardio classes (lots of step)! When it came time to stretch and do my abdominal exercises I was out the door.  This resulted in a very tight body with a very weak core, sway back and over developed body parts.

I went on this way for years and may have kept that path had it not been for the birth of my daughter.  After she came along this weak core of mine was a real mess.  I cried, I contemplated surgery and I just felt hopeless.  I even spoke with a plastic surgeon and he explained a tummy tuck to me and said it was my only hope.  I’ll never forget he said that he would tighten my stomach muscles up like a corset.  The surgery sounded painful, expensive and ridiculous with a baby to take care of.  I got my wits back and realized it was going to take real work on my part to put my body back together again.

I started back at the gym and fortunately the gym I joined had a Pilates studio so I decided to give it a try.  I will not lie I was totally intimidated by the equipment, terms, exercises and I was so weak. It was the hardest exercise I had ever done because I had a very weak core. But guess what after one session I was very curios and after two I was hooked and thus began my Pilates journey.

Today, Pilates has completely transformed my body and sharpened my mind. I was able to create my own internal corset by becoming aware of my powerhouse and strengthening it through the Pilates method and principles, of which I’ll share on my next Pilates blog.  I am stronger with longer and leaner muscles. I have also learned to be more aware of my body in space, my breathing and posture. My flexibility has improved greatly even with scoliosis and gets better everyday. And one final reason I love Pilates is it’s for everyone! I have an 80 year old client who moves beautifully and has great mobility through Pilates. She’s been taking for years.  And my five year old practices with me at home on the floor.  She can Teaser!

Well I’ve shared my experience with Pilates and hope to write more blogs on the subject in hopes that you will try it or pick your practice back up if you stopped for some reason.  I also want to share this quick video of the history of Pilates. It’s animated and kind of funny but I think it covers the basics. So enjoy! Have a great weekend! Keep reaching for your goals and taking care of yourself! Mentally and physically! Kathy, Fit Fashionista

Leave a Reply

